Any New update?

Forums: Any New update?
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Any New update?

Postby Cosoli » Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:23 am

Cosoli Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:23 am
I think Thea more care about SU user............

I almost want to give up Octane................ :cry:
Cosoli
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:42 pm

Re: Any New update?

Postby resmas » Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:21 am

resmas Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:21 am
CaptainCrowbar wrote:Sorry for the lack of updates recently. I've been kept busy on another project for the last few weeks; unfortunately we don't have enough staff for individual plugins to have a dedicated developer's full time. I'm looking into issues with the SketchUp plugin now, and will also be bringing it up to date for SU 2016 soon.



Hello there Captain, thanks for the feedback.

we will be wainting for a new build.

cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Any New update?

Postby fivebythree » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:44 pm

fivebythree Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:44 pm
I still pimp out Octane render on 'other' forums as the go-to realtime solution for our projects.

Its getting hard to lie.

This plugin needs to be fixed at the very least. Ever tried exporting an *.ocs to standalone? That hierarchy is completely broken crap. Then add the standard features found in every other plugin.

I tried switching to Blender and C4D for modelling. Honestly every other 3d program is too loose for real world architectural design. Scale doesn't exist.....

Don't get me started on Skatter, Crowbar doesn't even know what that is... I'm a frustrated beta tester that has Skatter crash from too much geometry, that could be avoided if Octane were just integrated like Thea, or vray. We're standing at a crossroad it seems. There's HUGE potential to take over this massive market. And all we see is reluctance.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: Any New update?

Postby smicha » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:56 pm

smicha Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:56 pm
2.24.2 is here but still buggy

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=51804
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Any New update?

Postby prehabitat » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:06 am

prehabitat Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:06 am
fivebythree wrote:Honestly every other 3d program is too loose for real world architectural design. Scale doesn't exist.....


Exactly the issue I experienced while chasing better app functions to be a realistic addition to our workflow: Max can do accurate; but once you go sub-poly its all just forms; and forget about documenting in it.

Try Rhino; its close to as intuitive as sketchup (from my perspective as a CAD user) and the interface can be "easily" modified to suit the tools/tool palates you're used to... plus its a beast at opening all/most file formats and plugins to expand on functionality...
PLUS PLUS: its accurate/CAD based.

EDIT: look at VisualARQ and Lands Design plugins too; might be helpful if they align with your work...
Win10/3770/16gb/K600(display)/GTX780(Octane)/GTX590/372.70
Octane 3.x: GH Lands VARQ Rhino5 -Rhino.io- C4D R16 / Revit17
prehabitat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Any New update?

Postby fivebythree » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:48 pm

fivebythree Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:48 pm
prehabitat wrote:
fivebythree wrote:Honestly every other 3d program is too loose for real world architectural design. Scale doesn't exist.....


Exactly the issue I experienced while chasing better app functions to be a realistic addition to our workflow: Max can do accurate; but once you go sub-poly its all just forms; and forget about documenting in it.

Try Rhino; its close to as intuitive as sketchup (from my perspective as a CAD user) and the interface can be "easily" modified to suit the tools/tool palates you're used to... plus its a beast at opening all/most file formats and plugins to expand on functionality...
PLUS PLUS: its accurate/CAD based.

EDIT: look at VisualARQ and Lands Design plugins too; might be helpful if they align with your work...


Thanks for the tips prehabitat ;) I may try a newer demo.

Our firm looked into Rhino in the past, but decided against it at the time for a few reasons. We're small, and the price bracket didn't suit multiple seats. SketchUp Pro was a nice cheap alternative that included really powerful features of Google maps / terrain, photomatch, component customization, ruby scripting and plugins.

How can I reiterate this point to OTOY? SKETCHUP IS REALLY POWERFUL.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: Any New update?

Postby prehabitat » Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:06 pm

prehabitat Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:06 pm
I know what it's like when there's several people (or a whole firm) involved in a descision.

Genuinely don't expect you to shift to Rhino, changing softwares for SAME functionality doesn't make sense...

For what it's worth; rhino has google maps import (to terrain), terrain editing, photo matching and block/instance (component) definitions... Not sure about Ruby, but you can script rhino too.

Agree with your point; sketchup is a beast now (with or without PlusSpec); and the parent is doing big things in the BIM & cloud spaces....
Win10/3770/16gb/K600(display)/GTX780(Octane)/GTX590/372.70
Octane 3.x: GH Lands VARQ Rhino5 -Rhino.io- C4D R16 / Revit17
prehabitat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 am
Location: Victoria, Australia
Previous

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Dec 08, 2019 3:42 pm [ UTC ]