HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Forums: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby smicha » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:41 am

smicha Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:41 am
I don't use tig's exporter anymore because I does not handle instances, which are really nicely coded in the SU plugin.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:51 am

rappet Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:51 am
smicha wrote:I don't use tig's exporter anymore because I does not handle instances, which are really nicely coded in the SU plugin.

Aha...

I use proxies (with scattering) withing the Archicad plugin.
tig's exporter is a life saver!
Archicad does make incorrect OBJ files;I use tig's exporter also to make correct OBJ to use Phantom Scatter;
Archicad > export to SKp > use TIG's exporter > iimport OBJ in Phantom Scatter > create csv > use csv file in Archicad

anyway, thats my own offtopic here :oops:
The thing is how to reduce large SKp files or prepare them for Octane.
Your splitting up in smaller OBJ (os smaller SKP) files is the way It o go I guess.
the layer plugin you are talking anbout is the standard layer window, right?
Or do you have a special plugin that splits your scene into layers for you?

cheers,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby smicha » Thu Aug 06, 2015 1:19 pm

smicha Thu Aug 06, 2015 1:19 pm
https://extensions.sketchup.com/en/content/layers-panel

If you don't mind send me PM any small skp model (just a single component that you think is not well optimized) and I'll look if can reduce its size and let you know.

Does archicad support its subdiv?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:28 pm

rappet Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:28 pm

Thanx... I will also send this to the architect who delivers the SKP model.

smicha wrote:If you don't mind send me PM any small skp model (just a single component that you think is not well optimized) and I'll look if can reduce its size and let you know.

Thanx for offering... Got to dismantle the model first and see what objects are making the scene so large.. I expect to find some furniture being highly detailed.
I might get back to you if needed, but for future projects I now want to analyze the scene and give some feedback to the architect , being able to deliver optimal scenes, instead of me having to tweak (not being a Sketchup expert)

smicha wrote:Does archicad support its subdiv?

Do not think so... In fact I do not exactly understand whta it is, I heard of subdiv before, but have not encountered it in my workflow.

Thanx for feedback Smicha, appreciate it

Greetz,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby smicha » Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:32 pm

smicha Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:32 pm
Just to mention: what kills Sketchup - performance, file size - are: textures (any, that is why it is good to apply textures in the standalone), geometry edges (I use custom shortcuts to turn them off).
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Previous

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Aug 05, 2020 12:24 am [ UTC ]