Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03 [superseded]

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03 [superseded]
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03 [superseded]

Postby TIG » Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:12 am

TIG Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:12 am
Here is version 1022-03
Octane_1022-03.zip
(537.13 KiB) Downloaded 176 times
It has been recoded to avoid an annoying glitch that was just reported on some MACs where there was an extra blank button on the Octane Render Toolbar when it was displayed horizontally :roll: ... This new version has been tested and it should now work cross-platform with a correctly made one-button toolbar in all configurations.

As we seem to have resolved all of the outstanding issues with the tool [ :shock: ] there only remains future updates to suit any new versions of Octane Render that come out - hopefully there will be one very shortly !
Last edited by TIG on Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby albert1016 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:09 pm

albert1016 Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:09 pm
Hi what must I do if zip can not access the C:\Program Files\Google\Google SketchUp 7\Plugins ? access denied.

Edit: I sort its
Last edited by albert1016 on Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Q9300 @ 3.0/ 2 X 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) SLI / 4 G DDR2 / Windows 7 Ult 32 bit
albert1016
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby albert1016 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:54 pm

albert1016 Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:54 pm
Hi, I cannot get the icon tool bar to show up, cannot find in the preference.
Q9300 @ 3.0/ 2 X 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) SLI / 4 G DDR2 / Windows 7 Ult 32 bit
albert1016
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:54 pm

TIG Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:54 pm
albert1016

I would not try to 'unzip' the files directly into the ../Plugins/ folder, as I suspect you might not have full Admin rights?
Here's an alternative.
Put the zip file on your Desktop [or another convenient location].
Extract all of the files in it keeping their sub-folders etc into a temporary folder next to it [your zip program probably suggests a name something like 'Octane1022--03']. That folder will now contain all of the files and sub-folders with their files etc - they will be in exactly the same relationship as they would be if they were in the ../Plugins/ folder.
Open that folder's window and Select All [Ctrl+A].
Open the ../Plugins/ folder in another window and the drag-and-drop all of the selected items into ../Plugins/ - ensuring you don't accidentally drop them onto another folder's icon [as they would move into there by mistake!]. All of the files/sub-folders will now move into ../Plugins/. If you need Admin rights to do this move you will be told and just click the appropriate buttons in any dialog[s] to do so... If there are any earlier file versions flagged up then click the dialogs' options to overwrite them...

You now have all of the required files in ../Plugins/ in the correct sub-folders etc..........
Next time you open Sketchup you will get the tool available to you.

Please read the README file or the Help PDF file that come in the zip which explains where files etc should be and how to activate and use the tool. You can also open the Help file from the tool's dialog button...

You do not activate the tool's toolbar from Preferences [?].
It is opened the first time you use it from menu View > Toolbar > Octane Render - thereafter it will be remembered and open in the last place you left it the next time you open Sketchup.
If you do close the toolbar then you can always reopen it from the menu as explained above...
As well as running the tool from its toolbar, you can also start it from its equivalent main menu item File > Octane Render..., or you can use the equivalent right-click context-menu item [Octane Render...] or even by simply typing octane into the Ruby Console!

If you need any further advice please post...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby albert1016 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:10 pm

albert1016 Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:10 pm
Thanks TIG

I have read through the "read me" file before attempt to do anything.
I have tried many ways to copy the file to sketchup folder ( including yours) but anything showed up.
Help.



Regards
Q9300 @ 3.0/ 2 X 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) SLI / 4 G DDR2 / Windows 7 Ult 32 bit
albert1016
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby Burkhard » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:49 pm

Burkhard Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:49 pm
Show a screenshot of your Plugins folder and maybe a screenshot from the View > Toolbars.
It can also help a lot to know what System you running, and what Specs you having. ( It was pleased in another thread to have your Informations in the Signature. Is a lot easier to see what
the problems could be without asking to much )
MacPro Quad * 8Gig RAM * GTX 285 Mac Edition ( delete two GT120 to make it run with octane! ) * Snow Leopard 10.6
Burkhard
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:11 pm

TIG Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:11 pm
As Burkhard says, some screen shots of you ../Plugins/ folder and toolbar menu would be very useful.
Do you get any error messages when starting Sketchup? If so, then what?
If you open the Ruby Console form the Window menu and type octane + <enter> key does anything happen ?
I suspect you simply haven't got files in the right locations...
You say about putting files intot he 'Sketchup' folder - no files go there thay are in ../Plugins/ or sub-folders within it.
Show us the folder screen-shots etc...
It must be solvable... :?
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby albert1016 » Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:38 am

albert1016 Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:38 am
I am very sorry about my stupid end user behavior, I finally got it "showed" up by click in the View-Tool bar-Octane..
Thanks for respond to the help, mostly appreciate.
Q9300 @ 3.0/ 2 X 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) SLI / 4 G DDR2 / Windows 7 Ult 32 bit
albert1016
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby albert1016 » Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:08 am

albert1016 Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:08 am
one quick question, when I export the model, why is the model far far away?
Q9300 @ 3.0/ 2 X 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) SLI / 4 G DDR2 / Windows 7 Ult 32 bit
albert1016
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-03

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:50 pm

TIG Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:50 pm
The model's geometry imports into Octane Render in exactly the same place as it is in your SKP - if you have your model a long way from the Sketchup 'origin' and you also haven't exported the Sketchup camera into Octane [from your current-view or current-scene-tab etc] then Octane's default camera might well be oddly placed relative to the imported model...

Check where your SKP's origin/axes are relative to the model's geometry [you can toggle the axes visibility on/off - it won't affect what's exported]. You can either move your entire model so that it's sensibly placed near to the origin... OR choose to export the camera into Octane Render [tick the appropriate box and select an active-camera] - so then the camera/view in Octane should match exactly the camera/view that you selected in the Sketchup model...

:ugeek:
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm
Next

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:09 pm [ UTC ]