Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Forums: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby FlowFireGames » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:13 am

FlowFireGames Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:13 am
Hey

So 6 months ago I got corrupted materials from time to time, when you do varied changes back and forward in the materials (non-node editor), (like changing reflectance, ctrl-z, textures in and out etc)
sometimes they can break and corrupt, and are no longer usable and break the file.

this then looks like this:
Image

I didnt need these files for the last months and now I am opening them again and seemingly all my files are unusable

Even If I delete the corrupted materials or all octane objects the scene no longer renders. And before only one material was corrupted which then could be avoided by not saving the scene and going back to last saved,
but it has literally spread to all other materials now in all my octane files, while I was pretty sure before that I did not save any corrupted files or one at the best.


I get this error in the log now and cant render at all anymore:
OctaneRender 3.08.4 (3080400)

CUDA error 999 on device 0: unknown error
-> failed to link to cubin
device 0: failed to compile OSL code:
error : Undefined reference to 'cuGeo' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'cuParams' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'TRANSFER_XYZ' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'cuXyzToRgbMatrix' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'CYAN' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'BLUE' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'GREEN' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'MAGENTA' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'RED' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'YELLOW' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'cu_cam' in '('
error : Undefined reference to 'cuQueues' in '&'
device 0: failed to compile module 0


I just downloaded the latest 3 version but nothing changed.
I cant even open a new scene, make a new material and render that, same error. Can I delete some cache or something somehow? Or how can this be fixed?
FlowFireGames
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby aoktar » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:11 pm

aoktar Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:11 pm
Materials or scene is not corrupted. There's a problem with GPU or DRIVER.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12705
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby FlowFireGames » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:02 pm

FlowFireGames Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:02 pm
I had the issue 6months ago and just updated to the latest driver (980 Ti) yesterday

And I have seen how the material corrupted in real time when I changed material settings back then, and that was just in one material. I did not save that change and reopening it worked again.
But it seems like nothing works now even without material. The GPU shows no sign of error on any other application or game.

Can you read something out of the error log I posted?
FlowFireGames
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby FlowFireGames » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:22 am

FlowFireGames Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:22 am
Turns out that using a newer driver causes the error and corruption, I will try to roll back a couple months but this should be looked at
FlowFireGames
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby FlowFireGames » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:16 am

FlowFireGames Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:16 am
Yes the newest driver that works is 417 from 2019.1.15,
419 does not work and the latest 430 something also does not
Last edited by FlowFireGames on Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
FlowFireGames
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby aoktar » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:20 am

aoktar Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:20 am
FlowFireGames wrote:Yes the newest driver that works is 417 from 2019.1.15,
419 does not work and the latest 430 something also does not

There should be an explanation, but not sure. Also it's a core and hardware issue not plugin. Latest drivers may not be well for your gpu type.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12705
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby FlowFireGames » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:25 pm

FlowFireGames Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:25 pm
It happens on my Titan X Pascal and on my 980 TI

Different thing:
Often when the octane render is about to finish and you try to move the picture viewer preview inside the picture viewer window (when a hand appears for dragging)
Octane freezes and freezes cinema 4D, requiring a task manager quit, happened multiple times to me already on latest 3 version, surely also still exists on v4, should not be hard to reproduce
(maybe only in path tracing not 100% sure)
FlowFireGames
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby aoktar » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:55 pm

aoktar Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:55 pm
Record a video to show it. As I said that's not happening on my side also not a plugin issue. Why don't you stay with the stable driver for you?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12705
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Corrupted Materials in all Files - Cant render anymore

Postby frankmci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:58 pm

frankmci Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:58 pm
FlowFireGames wrote:It happens on my Titan X Pascal and on my 980 TI

Different thing:
Often when the octane render is about to finish and you try to move the picture viewer preview inside the picture viewer window (when a hand appears for dragging)
Octane freezes and freezes cinema 4D, requiring a task manager quit, happened multiple times to me already on latest 3 version, surely also still exists on v4, should not be hard to reproduce
(maybe only in path tracing not 100% sure)


We see a similar problem with re-sizing the LV window while rendering, and we're still on V4/ Mac OS/ various 10xx cards. I suspect it's a driver issue, but honestly, it's been easier to modify our behavior, (Don't mess with the LV window, other than moving it, while it's rendering!), than to spend hours or days chasing down the right driver for each machine's hardware/OS version.

That obviously doesn't solve your problem, but at least you know you are not alone. :)
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:20 pm [ UTC ]