Render layer shadow artifacts

Forums: Render layer shadow artifacts
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby Yambo » Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:18 am

Yambo Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:18 am
Yes! Working :)

Thanks so much.
4x 980ti EVGA | 5930k | Asus X99 E WS 3.1 | corsair 64GB RAM |SSD 500GB system + SSD 2TB working files + 6TB HDD storage WD |
Phanteks Enthoo Primo | 1600W EVGA T2 BLACK | It's the fastest 4x980ti build: http://goo.gl/hYp8e0 :)

https://yambo.me
User avatar
Yambo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:37 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:59 pm

bepeg4d Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:59 pm
Hi Yambo,
I have discussed with abstrax about this issue and I have to say that I was wrong.
The black dots are a consequence of a fix added in SDK v3.03.4 to solve this issue described here:
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=55903
Look at this example:
Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 10.23.16.jpg
v3.03.3

Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 10.23.27.jpg
v3.03.3

Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 16.37.20.jpg
v3.03.3 in Photoshop

with previous versions there is no artifacts but when composed, you have a white halo.
Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 10.15.20.jpg
v3.03.4

Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 10.15.51.jpg
v3.03.4

Screen Shot 2016-09-23 at 16.38.18.jpg
v3.03.4 in Photoshop

with v3.03.4 you have some artifacts on borders, but the final composed result is correct.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby Oather » Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:56 pm

Oather Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:56 pm
Hi guys :)

Sorry to dig out this post but I'm using the last 3.04.5-R2 Octane version (windows) and I still get those black artifacts dots in my shadow render! If I use the very same scene as Yambo posted I get this:

ShadowPass_Artifacts.PNG


In my own project:

ShadowPass_Artifacts2.PNG
ShadowPass_Artifacts2.PNG (40.76 KiB) Viewed 1910 times


Could it be my mistake (render settings) or is it a known issue?

Cheers!
Florian
Oather
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:30 am

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 am

bepeg4d Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:34 am
Hi Oather,
as said in the previous message, the beaty pass covers the shadow pass, so the bleck dots will not be visible.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby Oather » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:46 am

Oather Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:46 am
Hi Beppe!

Oh yeah, sorry I forgot to mention something :D
I'm working on a neon flickering animation, so my scene is really easy: a background with a basic diffuse material and the neon with a glossy material. I did a multi-pass rendering to play with the reflection strength later in after effects. For no specific reason, I was animating the opacity of my neon and at some point I realized that those black dot were visible! But a alpha mask on the shadow pass will do the trick :)

Cheers!
Oather
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:30 am

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby Yambo » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:30 pm

Yambo Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:30 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi Oather,
as said in the previous message, the beaty pass covers the shadow pass, so the bleck dots will not be visible.
ciao beppe


But what when you dealing with glasses :/?

Kind of stuck right now, bummer.
Attachments
CINEMA 4D_2017-03-23_17-25-25.png
CINEMA 4D_2017-03-23_17-25-16.png
4x 980ti EVGA | 5930k | Asus X99 E WS 3.1 | corsair 64GB RAM |SSD 500GB system + SSD 2TB working files + 6TB HDD storage WD |
Phanteks Enthoo Primo | 1600W EVGA T2 BLACK | It's the fastest 4x980ti build: http://goo.gl/hYp8e0 :)

https://yambo.me
User avatar
Yambo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:37 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Render layer shadow artifacts

Postby mojave » Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:23 pm

mojave Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:23 pm
This should be the same case, it's likely that the transparency of the resulting render is near to zero on the glass edges where you see the black artifacts, so you should not see them in the final composited image.

I would need to confirm that, but I'd need the actual result with transparency for testing.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 877
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm
Previous

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jessestormer and 3 guests

Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:30 pm [ UTC ]