Why v2.0 so slow ?

Forums: Why v2.0 so slow ?
3D Studio Max Plugin (Export Script Plugins developed by [gk] and KilaD; Integrated Plugin developed by Karba)
Forum rules
Please post only in English in this subforum. For alternate language discussion please go here viewforum.php?f=18

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby abstrax » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:37 pm

abstrax Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:37 pm
We need example scenes so we can investigate the problem. See here: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=40446
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby Seekerfinder » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:04 pm

Seekerfinder Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:04 pm
anifex3D wrote:I would like to see some more users test scenes and post results between the 1.55 version and 2.0 version speeds. I am not sure I am believing the math on a 50% slowdown. I have tested several scenes here and the worst case scenario was about 24% slower. Other scenes were between 12%-20%.

The 'relief' post. Thanks anifax3D, that brings some perspective.

I would like to see the benchmark scenes being tested with various people's setups for comparison. Would also be good to revisit comparison with other render engines, like Arion, which offers comparative features (Visual, where are you?) to see if we've crossed 'the barrier'. I agree with others that Otoy should have informed users of the speed drop.

That being said, network & cloud rendering and a committed team & company add up to a promising future. Interoperability with Brigade also can't be ignored - I think that will be HUGE for archviz. Finally, the focus seems to have been on expanding the feature set for this release. Most of the code was rewritten last year to achieve this, which is when we saw the first speed drop (excluding Keplergate of course..(I still cry myself to sleep over that)). I'd like to think that speed improvements will get higher priority in future releases. Hopefully the rewritten code has not somehow deadlocked Cuda speed improvements. Whatever the case, Octane remains a joy for me to use and I retain huge respect for the developers, who are continuously pushing GPU tech to its limits. And besides, adding another Titan to my setup will still double the speed (almost). I love that.

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby charlesp2 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:14 pm

charlesp2 Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:14 pm
voon wrote:This is kind of ironic ... most needed 2.0 feature: turn 2.0 off? I love thos enew features ... but the speed loss is crazy.


Yep exactly my thoughts. We will have to wait for the team to update this, still I mean I love Octane and look forward to being able to use 2.0 without speed loss. They're still a wonderful team of geniuses, just new code can be tricky.
2x GTX780 3GB, 1 3930k @4.0, 3xAMD 1090T 6-core (for vray), 16GB RAM, Win7 64. + Octane (learning and hoping, lol)
charlesp2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby emihich » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:28 am

emihich Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:28 am
I think it is slower than 1.5 a bit, not 50 %, or crazy slower,
the issue shall be adressed ,but still, congratulations on this amazing
release, and I suggest improving Octane Cloud ,as a Speed resource ,
in order to tame Tough Render jobs,
and this will complete Octane 2.0 Awesomeness.
I can see heads turning to Octane Cloud , it's been promissed ...
Greetings ! :geek:
User avatar
emihich
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby dustrider » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:34 am

dustrider Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:34 am
I've done some very unscientific testing, and I'm getting anywhere from 10-21% slow down in Ms/sec, but the images are clearing up much faster. Even with the loss in speed, my renders are reaching the stopping point for quality in about 1/3 to 3/4 the time required with 1.5. But I haven't tried a lot of complex SSS shaders, I have been using direct light, path tracing, and PMC.

Of course, your mileage may vary. My simple system pales in comparison to most - a laptop running a Geforce 670M (Fermi). Maybe there is a performance hit on multi-gpu systems, but for me I'm quite happy with the performance of 2.0 - slower, but faster.
dustrider
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:58 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby ltchest » Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:40 am

ltchest Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:40 am
O boy - this is such bad news if there is any kind of performance loss. I personally dont need most of the new features - apart from displacement (nice to have) and region render (essential to have) (assuming we do get that in Max, right ?) i bought the UG but there is no point in installing it if were talking about a 15-20% decrease in performance :(
Win7 64bit. i7 3930K 4.2Ghz.32GbRam. GTX670(4Gb)+2xGTX580(3Gb) | 3xGTX780(3Gb). 337.88. 1200W. (+ 5 x i7 2600 nodes).
User avatar
ltchest
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:03 am
Location: Funcouver

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby ltchest » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:40 am

ltchest Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:40 am
If you install octane 2 standalone, is it still possible to run the 3dsMax 1.xx plugin ? or do you have to use the 2 version ? i was thinking i would install octane 2 standalone and test the max plugin with max 2014 but in max 2015 keep using the 1.5 plugin.
Win7 64bit. i7 3930K 4.2Ghz.32GbRam. GTX670(4Gb)+2xGTX580(3Gb) | 3xGTX780(3Gb). 337.88. 1200W. (+ 5 x i7 2600 nodes).
User avatar
ltchest
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:03 am
Location: Funcouver

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby FooZe » Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:03 am

FooZe Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:03 am
ltchest wrote:If you install octane 2 standalone, is it still possible to run the 3dsMax 1.xx plugin ? or do you have to use the 2 version ? i was thinking i would install octane 2 standalone and test the max plugin with max 2014 but in max 2015 keep using the 1.5 plugin.


You can install the 2.0 standalone and have whatever version of 3ds max you want. The code is not directly shared. In fact you don't need the standalone installed at all, you just need the license.
User avatar
FooZe
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:00 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby haknslash » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:12 pm

haknslash Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:12 pm
Yea I'm seeing huge differences in speed from 1.5 to 2.0 (demo). I was going to upgrade because of all the nice features but if it's going to impact my render times then I think I'm just going to hold out for a while to seee how 2.0 improves for speed. Kinda bummed TBH :(

Octane Render 1.50 (standalone)
336.43 Ms/sec @ 8 seconds (0:24 seconds est. time to reach convergence of 16,000 s/px)

Image

Octane Render 2.00 (demo)
51.10 Ms/sec @ 10 seconds (3:09 est. time to reach convergence of 16,000 s/px)

Image
900D | 4770k | ASUS Maximus VI Extreme | 2x RTX 2080 Ti's | 32GB RAM | AX1200i | Win 7 64bit | Autodesk Inventor | 3DS Max | Blender | Mudbox | Alias
User avatar
haknslash
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:54 am

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby kavorka » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:28 pm

kavorka Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:28 pm
That seems like way to much of a decrease. Are all of your GPUs turned on in the demo?

I am seeing 10-20% decrease in speed, but someone posted that the images converge faster, even if the Ms/s is smaller
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am
PreviousNext

Return to Autodesk 3Ds Max


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

Sat Sep 19, 2020 11:44 am [ UTC ]