Resolution Problems?

Forums: Resolution Problems?
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Resolution Problems?

Postby champi22 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:25 am

champi22 Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:25 am
Hi, I'm thinking about buying octane render, I love it.

I have a question about the GPU memory problems in large resolution renders, because I send to my clients a low resolution image 1600 x 1200 pixel usually, but when they send me the Ok for the render I must render to 4500 x 4500 at least in the same scene.

What is the amount of memory that I need with Octane in my GPU for this kind of resolutions.

Now I have a NVDIA 9600GT.


Thank you
champi22
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:21 am

Re: Resolution Problems?

Postby James » Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:49 am

James Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:49 am
It depends in part on the scene you are rendering, I think that generally 1 gig of memory and up is reccommended, though on a really simple scene or, if you have nothing in your scene, I am sure you could render high resolutions really easily on 512 megs...
Kubuntu 9.04 | Nvidia Gainward 9500 GT | Intel Core2 Quad 2.40 Ghz | 4 GB RAM
User avatar
James
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Resolution Problems?

Postby radiance » Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:15 am

radiance Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:15 am
i'd recommend a card with a lot of memory for those resolutions, like the GTX200 series with 1.8 GB ram, or the new fermi based cards with say 1,5 GB ram.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Return to Demo Version Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:09 am [ UTC ]