Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working

Forums: Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working

Postby Dhenzel » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:06 am

Dhenzel Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:06 am
Hey everyone -

I'm trying to render out something in Blender/Octane (( 020.1.4_21.13 )) with motion blur, and it doesn't seem to be working even with all of these boxes ticked;



    Motion Blur checked in Rendering Settings
    Motion Blur checked in Camera
    Motion Blur checked in the objects I want motion blurred.

Noting as well the objects I want blurred are a Collada/.dae file imported from Mixamo + a garment rendered as an Alembic OGAWA from Marvelous Designer
Camera is stationary, doesn't need to be blurred.

https://imgur.com/a/WIqv4LN


This doesn't seem to be a problem with a simple cube animation though, the motion blur works fine there.
https://imgur.com/a/EashCmW


I was suggested that the Alembic file is just frame by frame mesh data, so there's no data inbetween/interpolation to show movement - no idea if there's a way to get an alembic file to have this data?

The armature from mixamo shouldn't have this problem though, right?
Though, it doesn't seem like there is any position changes in the armature or mesh thats Blender is reading.
https://imgur.com/a/uAFocIP



Been struggling for a bit & would appreciate any help with this.

Thanks :)
Dhenzel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:24 am

Re: Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working

Postby Dhenzel » Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:13 pm

Dhenzel Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:13 pm
Update:

Found that the main problem was my textures had displacement maps - Octane doesn't seem to render motion blur with those.

Is there a work around that?
Dhenzel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:24 am

Re: Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:52 am

bepeg4d Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:52 am
Hi,
probably you are using a Texture Displacement node, that does not support motion blur.
You need a Vertex displacement node to have correct motion blur on the object.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7627
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Blender/Octane Motion Blur not working

Postby Dhenzel » Thu Sep 24, 2020 3:59 pm

Dhenzel Thu Sep 24, 2020 3:59 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
probably you are using a Texture Displacement node, that does not support motion blur.
You need a Vertex displacement node to have correct motion blur on the object.

ciao Beppe


Ahh, thank you for this :D
Dhenzel
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:24 am

Return to Demo Version Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:41 pm [ UTC ]