Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Forums: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby pixym » Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:53 pm

pixym Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:53 pm
I have tested bump mapping and it works pretty good. I have used jpeg as bump image file.
Work Station : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - Intel i9 7980XE (2,6ghz 18 cores / 36 threads) - 32GB - 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
NET RENDER : MB Biostar TB250-BTC Pro - Celeron 2C/2T - Open "Mining" Rig - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7
pixym
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: French West Indies

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby katerlake » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:02 pm

katerlake Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:02 pm
Thanks Radiance.
Im waiting for the beta3 and i will testing it.
Is the problem in beta3, i do something in my registry. ;)
|Q8400, gtx770 4Gb |12 Gb Ram|Win7 64 Bit|C4D R15 Visualize and Octane
my 3D-Blog: http://katerlake.blogspot.com
my Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/user4046032
my FlickR: http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/
User avatar
katerlake
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:58 pm
Location: straubing/germany

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby radiance » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:05 am

radiance Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:05 am
hi, we will first release an update, beta2.1,
with bugfixes and a few minor features that are urgently needed,
then we work on beta3.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby andrian » Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:34 pm

andrian Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:34 pm
radiance wrote:hi, we will first release an update, beta2.1,
with bugfixes and a few minor features that are urgently needed,
then we work on beta3.

Radiance


Is this gonna take a while? I mean beta 2.1? Any memory improvement for overall geometry handle and frame-buffer? I just received mail about Arion update, and it claims that:

- Fixes a lot of situations the video driver and/or CUDA would crash
- About 2x faster rendering on CUDA devices, depending on the scenes
- 7 times less memory usage on CUDA devices for the frame buffer - WOW 7 times less
- Up to 128 materials in realtime
- Moved on CUDA toolkit 3.0 final whats the benefit of using toolkit?
Vista 64 , 2x Xeon 5440 - 24GB RAM, 1x GTX 260 & I7 3930 water cooled - 32GB RAM, 1 x GTX 480+ 1x8800 GTS 512
CGsociety gallery
My portfolio
My portfolio2 - under construction
Web site
Making of : pool scene - part1
andrian
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby radiance » Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:12 pm

radiance Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:12 pm
andrian wrote:
radiance wrote:hi, we will first release an update, beta2.1,
with bugfixes and a few minor features that are urgently needed,
then we work on beta3.

Radiance


Is this gonna take a while? I mean beta 2.1? Any memory improvement for overall geometry handle and frame-buffer? I just received mail about Arion update, and it claims that:

- Fixes a lot of situations the video driver and/or CUDA would crash
- About 2x faster rendering on CUDA devices, depending on the scenes
- 7 times less memory usage on CUDA devices for the frame buffer - WOW 7 times less
- Up to 128 materials in realtime
- Moved on CUDA toolkit 3.0 final whats the benefit of using toolkit?



Well,
that's cool but we already released a cuda 3.0 toolkit version last week with beta2, support an unlimited amount of materials, render faster than arion (apparently due to some statistics i've seen on screenshots), and our beta2 fixed a lot of crashes and stability issues too.

And all that at 1/10th the price ?!

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby andrian » Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:05 pm

andrian Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:05 pm
There is no doubt at all Radiance that Octane is superior than Arion in my opinion, about the toolkit it seems I misunderstand it, I know we are on 3.0 , they say : "you need to install the nVidia CUDA Toolkit 3.0 in order for Arion to run." and it since we don't need the toolkit its somehow confusing.
Vista 64 , 2x Xeon 5440 - 24GB RAM, 1x GTX 260 & I7 3930 water cooled - 32GB RAM, 1 x GTX 480+ 1x8800 GTS 512
CGsociety gallery
My portfolio
My portfolio2 - under construction
Web site
Making of : pool scene - part1
andrian
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby Sam » Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:14 pm

Sam Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:14 pm
and it since we don't need the toolkit its somehow confusing


That's probably because they don't know how to not need to use it :lol:

render faster than arion (apparently due to some statistics i've seen on screenshots)


+ 1 I watch their forums everyday (and god, its so silent its scary) and all screenshots get less MS/s than what I got with Octane
http://Kuto.ch - Samuel Zeller - Freelance 3D Generalist and Graphic designer from Switzerland
User avatar
Sam
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Geneva

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby Kitsune » Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:27 pm

Kitsune Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:27 pm
radiance wrote:hi, we will first release an update, beta2.1,
with bugfixes and a few minor features that are urgently needed,
then we work on beta3.


Is MLT implemented on Beta 3? Some scenes, especially ones with distorting glass, are quite hard to render without it.
Windows 7 64 bit | Geforce GTX 570 | Intel i7 2600 3.9 GHz | 16 GB
User avatar
Kitsune
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:19 am

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby radiance » Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:33 pm

radiance Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:33 pm
Kitsune wrote:
radiance wrote:hi, we will first release an update, beta2.1,
with bugfixes and a few minor features that are urgently needed,
then we work on beta3.


Is MLT implemented on Beta 3? Some scenes, especially ones with distorting glass, are quite hard to render without it.


we're releasing 2.1 early next week, with many fixes and multi-gpu support,
and then 2.2 with MLT soon after (a handfull of days later)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render Commercial v1.02 beta2 Released

Postby andrian » Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:35 pm

andrian Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:35 pm
niceeeeeeeee :)
Vista 64 , 2x Xeon 5440 - 24GB RAM, 1x GTX 260 & I7 3930 water cooled - 32GB RAM, 1 x GTX 480+ 1x8800 GTS 512
CGsociety gallery
My portfolio
My portfolio2 - under construction
Web site
Making of : pool scene - part1
andrian
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: Bulgaria
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:08 am [ UTC ]