OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby ssokol » Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:26 pm

ssokol Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:26 pm
HI, Copy of whole material and paste to another doesn't work for me :-(
User avatar
ssokol
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Poland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:10 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:10 pm
VVG wrote:OctaneBench® 4.00

https://render.otoy.com/octanebench/

"The file you requested does not exist."

Duh. It seems that the files got removed. We have uploaded them and updated the OctaneBench website. It should work now.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:27 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:27 pm
Hi Juan.

Juanlife wrote:I have some doubts, I have 2 OctaneRender v3 regular licenses + 1 3dsmax plugin ,

1. that mean that now I can use 80 gpus no matter if they are in one or in several computers? I have a couple of extra PCs that I could use

You can use up to 40 GPUs by one net render master. At the moment you will still need a standalone license to run a net render slave, i.e. in your case you will be able to run one slave and thus won't hit the 40 GPU limit.

2. what if I upgrade now? can I go back if something goes wrong with my actual project?

The version 4 license is compatible with older versions (e.g. version 3), which means after you upgrade your licenses to version 4 (for free) you can continue using version 3 with the upgraded licenses.

3. I noticed that now you sell the render node separately,

That's just a different wording for a regular standalone license that can also be used as a net render slave.

my actual setup is 1 OctaneRender v3 regular license+3dsmax plugin in my Workstation and another OctaneRender v3 regular license in a linux System with 10 gtx1070 for network rendering, so what now? what about "up to 200 networked GPUs" that you promised? I bought the second license on March 25 2018, after your announcement, I did it thinking about a possible expansion of my rendering capacity...

I think there is a misunderstanding here: The support of 200 GPUs doesn't mean that you can just grab all computers you can find and run a net render slave on them without a license. You still need a license to run a net render slave on a machine, i.e. to be able to use 200 GPUs you would need a lot of licenses. Also be aware that a typical LAN setup doesn't provide enough bandwidth for a 200 GPU setup.

For now, you can use up to 40 GPUs on a net render master of version 4, which can either be provided by the computer the master is running on or by net render slaves.

please, help.
thank in advance
Juan
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:28 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:28 pm
KeeWe wrote:Glad to see its finally here. :)

So whats the deal with extra render nodes for perpetual license holders? I just upgraded my V3 Standalone and c4d license to V4. Am I, and if yess how, able to use my other GPUs in my network for rendering?
Like stated here:

https://youtu.be/6xE3J56pabk?t=51

This work hasn't finished yet. We are planning to provide an update as soon as that is done.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:40 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:40 pm
eisklotz wrote:Hi,

I thought Octane 4 would be free for 2 GPUs?

Not yet, but it will be provided soon as far as I know.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby grimm » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:58 pm

grimm Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:58 pm
Awesome! Thanks guys. But I'm getting an error when I try to upgrade: "This account is temporarily locked" :(
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.64
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1258
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby ChrisVis » Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:27 pm

ChrisVis Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:27 pm
Hey abstrax,

I am very excited Octane 4 and C4DOctane 4 is finally out and have some doubts about upgrading. (didn`t try any Octane 4 beta versions yet)
In the License Upgrade window the note says, it is highly recommended to deactivate the licenses before upgrading.
I have a standalone and a C4D license Version 3.

My 1st question:

Is it still possible to use C4D plugin Version 3 after upgrading to version 4?
If yes, is there anything special to know about the license management?

Because of current projects I will need both versions for a period of time.

My 2nd question:
The All-Access Annual Extension description says:
"All-Access to the Future
Get continuous access to all future updates and new features beyond OctaneRender 4, including NVLink (available in Octane 2018.1 - XB1) and full Vulkan-RTX hardware acceleration on Turing GPUs coming in Octane 2019. "

What does it mean for future updates of Version 4, if I don`t buy a Octane All-Access License now? Won`t I have access to upcoming V4 updates?
Or is the next version called Octane 2018.1, and to this one I wouldn`t have access without subscription?
I only use and need the C4D Plugin.

Thinking about getting your Black Friday Deal, but need to clarify my 1st questions first ;)

Thanks in advance!
C4D R15 - C4DOctane 4.0 | Win7 64 | NVIDIA 417.22 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC |EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC
i7 4930K 6x4.3GHz OC | 64GB | ASUS P9X79-E WS
+ Netstor Turbobox 250A | 2x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC + 2 x Palit GTX780 Ti 3GB | all watercooled
ChrisVis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:52 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:52 pm
grimm wrote:Awesome! Thanks guys. But I'm getting an error when I try to upgrade: "This account is temporarily locked" :(

Could you try again? According to our web admin it should be caused by trying an incorrect password for too many times.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:57 pm

abstrax Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:57 pm
ChrisVis wrote:Hey abstrax,

I am very excited Octane 4 and C4DOctane 4 is finally out and have some doubts about upgrading. (didn`t try any Octane 4 beta versions yet)
In the License Upgrade window the note says, it is highly recommended to deactivate the licenses before upgrading.
I have a standalone and a C4D license Version 3.

My 1st question:

Is it still possible to use C4D plugin Version 3 after upgrading to version 4?
If yes, is there anything special to know about the license management?

Because of current projects I will need both versions for a period of time.


Yes, after upgrading your license to version 4 (which is free) you will still be able to use version 3.

My 2nd question:
The All-Access Annual Extension description says:
"All-Access to the Future
Get continuous access to all future updates and new features beyond OctaneRender 4, including NVLink (available in Octane 2018.1 - XB1) and full Vulkan-RTX hardware acceleration on Turing GPUs coming in Octane 2019. "

What does it mean for future updates of Version 4, if I don`t buy a Octane All-Access License now? Won`t I have access to upcoming V4 updates?
Or is the next version called Octane 2018.1, and to this one I wouldn`t have access without subscription?
I only use and need the C4D Plugin.

With the (free) upgrade to version 4 you will have access to all version 4 updates that will be released in the future. Please be aware though that version 2018 is not version 4.

Thinking about getting your Black Friday Deal, but need to clarify my 1st questions first ;)

Thanks in advance!
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5143
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.00 [current 4.xx]

Postby ChrisVis » Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:02 pm

ChrisVis Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:02 pm
Ok, thank you very much for clarifying that!

Are there any informational post in terms of Octane 2018?
Sorry, I am not that up to date lately.
C4D R15 - C4DOctane 4.0 | Win7 64 | NVIDIA 417.22 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC |EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC
i7 4930K 6x4.3GHz OC | 64GB | ASUS P9X79-E WS
+ Netstor Turbobox 250A | 2x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC + 2 x Palit GTX780 Ti 3GB | all watercooled
ChrisVis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Germany
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:26 am [ UTC ]