Render Layer glitch

Forums: Render Layer glitch
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Render Layer glitch

Postby tomsvfx » Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:19 pm

tomsvfx Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:19 pm
I have big problems with the edge sampling when using Render Layers.
The problem is very big, since I use a lot of Render Layers in my workflow and where I work and having this issue is very sad.
Most of my example are shown in C4D, but the same problem exists in Standalone versions above 3.07.

When using Render Layers, edge sampling is completly messed up.
In beauty its all ok, but when using any pass (anything from beauty pass or rende layer pass) edges of objects are glitched.

Rendering on disk using exr or png doesnt solve problem (tried with different compressions and in different modes linear/tonemapped).

Here is examples images and video:

Video:


Main/Beauty:
Image

Diffuse pass:
Image

Same in Octane Standalone
Image

In Octane 3.07 Cinema4D it was working correctly

Image

My info:
A. Windows 10
B. GTX 1080Ti or GTX 670 (happens on multiple machines)
C. RAM Capacity 32GB
D. Nvidia driver version = 398.11
E. OctaneRender Standalone version = 3.08.3 (3080300)
F. OctaneRender plugin version = 3.08.3
G. Host application version = Cinema4D R17.055
User avatar
tomsvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:19 pm
Location: Riga

Re: Render Layer glitch

Postby tomsvfx » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:46 am

tomsvfx Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:46 am
Can anyone comment about this issue?

Has this adressed or there is some plan what will happen with this?
User avatar
tomsvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:19 pm
Location: Riga

Re: Render Layer glitch

Postby Whispermode » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:57 pm

Whispermode Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:57 pm
tomsvfx wrote:Can anyone comment about this issue?

Has this adressed or there is some plan what will happen with this?


+1
Whispermode
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 11:27 pm

Re: Render Layer glitch

Postby tomsvfx » Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:15 pm

tomsvfx Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:15 pm
Hey Whispermode!
I got confirmation from abstrax (Octane Render team member), that this issue will be fixed in the next release. But no one sayd when it will happen.
You can check that discussion here, where I got that answer:

https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=68494&start=10
User avatar
tomsvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:19 pm
Location: Riga

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: grimm and 3 guests

Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:19 pm [ UTC ]