wasting render time on large scenes

Forums: wasting render time on large scenes
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

wasting render time on large scenes

Postby coilbook » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:55 am

coilbook Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:55 am
We are rendering a large scene 5.6 Gb of Vram for animation using 3ds max plugin. We have lots of cars (movable proxies that should be in vram all the time and refresh instantly), itoo forest, and terrain mesh Each frame takes 1 min 56 sec to render (20 video cards). 1 minute for each frame is just a black screen (processing geometry I guess) and 56 sec is to actually render. Why?? The whole scene is in the vram Why are we wasting more than a half of a render time just to process the geometry EACH frame/ Otoy please fix it. Please do some test with lots of instant objects and itoo forests in 3ds max. not sure how brigade demo does it in real time when you have to wait 1-2 min just to process data each frame Thank you
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby Tag12345 » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:48 am

Tag12345 Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:48 am
coilbook wrote:We are rendering a large scene 5.6 Gb of Vram for animation using 3ds max plugin. We have lots of cars (movable proxies that should be in vram all the time and refresh instantly), itoo forest, and terrain mesh Each frame takes 1 min 56 sec to render (20 video cards). 1 minute for each frame is just a black screen (processing geometry I guess) and 56 sec is to actually render. Why?? The whole scene is in the vram Why are we wasting more than a half of a render time just to process the geometry EACH frame/ Otoy please fix it. Please do some test with lots of instant objects and itoo forests in 3ds max. not sure how brigade demo does it in real time when you have to wait 1-2 min just to process data each frame Thank you



Read my thread below this. Its kinda going into alot of the issues such as this.


Mainly has to deal with VRAM usage and optimizations within Octane that need to be made either in the post process --> Better usage of CPU & VRAM or --> Better usage with Noise reduction to get times down to compensate for the load time
Tag12345
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:23 am

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:08 pm

bepeg4d Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:08 pm
Hi coilbook,
I wonder how heavy is for 3ds Max itself to handle such a scene.
Did you try to export to Standalone and render from there?
Standalone needs far less resources than a host app + plugin to handle complex scenes, maybe worths to try.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6685
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby KeeWe » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:35 am

KeeWe Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:35 am
Same here in c4d. as soon as a polyfx deformer kicks in, export time rises over 1 minute for 25 seconds rendering. And the best: its getting longer exponentially. Starting the rendering again reduces the time to 50 seconds, then its goging up 5 seconds per frame. pretty annoying...
6850k // 32 GB // 1080, 1080 Ti, 2080 Ti // Win 10 // C4D 19.068
User avatar
KeeWe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:32 am

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby coilbook » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:40 pm

coilbook Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:40 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi coilbook,
I wonder how heavy is for 3ds Max itself to handle such a scene.
Did you try to export to Standalone and render from there?
Standalone needs far less resources than a host app + plugin to handle complex scenes, maybe worths to try.
ciao beppe



hi we can only use 3ds max because we use madcar and city traffic plugins, phoenix fd etc and exporting all these is such a pain. Hopefully you guys can optimize it like version 2 was. It is getting slower and slower with each version with scene evaluation. With 20 GPUs we have 70% is scene loading every frame
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby J.C » Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:46 am

J.C Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:46 am
There may be three things to check again:
1. Make sure all moving or deformable objects are "Moving proxies"
2. Animation mode set to "Movable proxies" (if there is one – Blender plugin has this option)
3. Objects that have subdiv/turbosmooth modifiers should be collapsed

Exporting animation to Standalone will not help as in Standalone app there are no "Movable proxies" objects and animation will be processed every frame.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 2xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, OS X 10.12.6. Octane 4-2019, Blender Plugin 17.x-20.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby pegot » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:53 pm

pegot Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:53 pm
J.C wrote:Exporting animation to Standalone will not help as in Standalone app there are no "Movable proxies" objects and animation will be processed every frame.

Can one of the devs confirm if this is true or not? Because I remember a year or two ago doing a complex animation in Belnder that I had to export to Stand Alone. I did various tests in changing the Movable proxies settings for various objects before exporting to SA and recall those settings being honored in SA (i.e when exported with Scatter and or Movable proxy settings the object loading time was substantially quicker than when exporting same objects as Global mesh type).
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby J.C » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:41 am

J.C Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:41 am
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 2xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, OS X 10.12.6. Octane 4-2019, Blender Plugin 17.x-20.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:38 am

bepeg4d Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:38 am
Hi,
i guess it depends from the type of data that needs to be updated during time.
If you have vertex animation in your scene, the geometry exported in Alembic becomes more huge compared to plugin workflow, since the deformed mesh needs to be loaded frame by frame.
With only camera or PSR animation, Standalone is super fast in frame loading.
The recent introduction of FBX support in 3.07 goes in the direction of reducing the loading time also with vertex animation:
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=62395
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6685
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: wasting render time on large scenes

Postby J.C » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:17 am

J.C Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:17 am
Yes, camera or PSR animation work without scene reloading every frame. No special settings are needed for this when exporting to ORBX format. No proxies are needed to setup too.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 2xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, OS X 10.12.6. Octane 4-2019, Blender Plugin 17.x-20.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukas8410 and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:34 am [ UTC ]