Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Forums: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby eyeinthesky » Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:22 pm

eyeinthesky Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:22 pm
radiance wrote:you should set the tdr level to 0, also read the 2nd post, as there was a typo in the first one...

Radiance


nothing to do ... octane crashes ... even if it uses 200 MB to 500 this is the clip of the registry editor... something wrong?

Thank You
Attachments
Clip.jpg
Win xp 64bit | GTX 480 1535 Mb ram
eyeinthesky
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:42 am

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby radiance » Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:56 pm

radiance Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:56 pm
try adding a key TdrDelay: REG_DWORD with value 10 or 12 or so ?

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby eyeinthesky » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:17 am

eyeinthesky Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:17 am
radiance wrote:try adding a key TdrDelay: REG_DWORD with value 10 or 12 or so ?

Radiance


Radiance, apologize if I continue to bore you, unfortunately, continues to crash ... I do not know what to do, it seems that the operating system ignores the values in the registry ... Sometimes the image appears and then octane crashes after the first sample ... especially if it exceeds half of the video card 512mb memory ..

Thank You for reply
Attachments
Clip.jpg
Win xp 64bit | GTX 480 1535 Mb ram
eyeinthesky
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:42 am

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby radiance » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:41 am

radiance Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:41 am
Hi,

Just wait a bit, i will prepare some ready to apply registry fix files later today and post them here.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby radiance » Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:25 am

radiance Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:25 am
Hi,

I've done some further research in the docs and i'm afraid you won't be able to fix it on XP.
The default timeout is higher than Vista/7 (2 seconds), for XP it's 5 seconds,
but the keys won't work on it.

The only option is to add a 2nd GPU and use it for octane rendering,
and it has to be a GPU that is not connected to a display/used for displaying a windows desktop.

Individual GPU program launches are limited to a run time
of less than 5 seconds on a GPU with a display attached.
Exceeding this time limit usually causes a launch failure
reported through the CUDA driver or the CUDA runtime. GPUs
without a display attached are not subject to the 5 second
runtime restriction. For this reason it is recommended that
CUDA be run on a GPU that is NOT attached to a display and
does not have the Windows desktop extended onto it. In this
case, the system must contain at least one NVIDIA GPU that
serves as the primary graphics adapter.


since the FX1700 is quite a slow card, i would recommend for you to get a 2nd GPU, a GTX200 or GTX400 series.
you'll be able to use octane with far more complex scenes as it will have more memory,
and you'll have a much smoother experience.

Our 32bit system is running XP here, and it has 2 gpu's in it (2x FX3800, and when using the 2nd gpu, it works flawlessly)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby eyeinthesky » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:29 pm

eyeinthesky Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:29 pm
Thank You Radiance
Win xp 64bit | GTX 480 1535 Mb ram
eyeinthesky
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:42 am

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby teknofreek » Sat May 01, 2010 1:37 am

teknofreek Sat May 01, 2010 1:37 am
On those Tdr dwords ...
When you edit the reg and add the dword, do you input the value in as hex or decimal? ie the 600 reported above...
:oops:
Win 10 Pro 64bit, AMD 1950X 3.6 Ghz, Gigabyte AorusG7 X399 MB, 1x GTX 680 1x GTX 770 mainboard, 4x GTX660ti external, 32 GB onboard mem
Nvidia drivers 388.59
teknofreek
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:27 am

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby radiance » Sat May 01, 2010 1:29 pm

radiance Sat May 01, 2010 1:29 pm
teknofreek wrote:On those Tdr dwords ...
When you edit the reg and add the dword, do you input the value in as hex or decimal? ie the 600 reported above...
:oops:


the only thing you need to add is the TdrLevel and it needs to be 0

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby pm3d » Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:18 pm

pm3d Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:18 pm
no more issues with path tracing i have laptop new beta 2.2b works ok now after previous problems of crashing
yippe i can render 2048 x 512 x2 without crash

my laptop is 8600M GT no more problems

thanks
pm3d design
AMd Athlon with Ge-force card 3.6GB Ram GTX470 Nvidia
pm3d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Regarding octane closing with pathtracing & high resolutions

Postby jmlepretre » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:50 am

jmlepretre Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:50 am
Hi all,

I read all of those posts and i am wondering if the things have changed since the last post
concerning Freezes, blue screens on large renderings with pathTracing on XP32 ...?

Jean-marc
XP32sp2 - 4Gb(3.12)- Core2Quad @2.40Ghz - MSI 260GTX 896Mb
User avatar
jmlepretre
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:18 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:34 pm [ UTC ]