Softimage to Octane exporter

Forums: Softimage to Octane exporter
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby face » Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:06 am

face Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:06 am
It´s done ;)
I´ve written a Softimage plugin to export to Octane.
Animation and GPU option are in development...
Right click and save as http://3d-pixel.de/wips/xsi/octane.xsiaddon

You can find the plugin under the file/export menu.

For the simple version, it´s only provided that you set the Path for the octane.exe under the RenderOptions.
The second thing is to switch to the Camera tab and pick the camera.
Thats all and you can press the Render current frame button.
Octane will then lanch and render the current frame.

A png will automatic saved under %userpath%/documents/tmpxxx.png, where xxx is the current frame.
All other files, 2obj´s with mtl´s and the ocs will be under your temp folder.

It´s also possible to set the files separately.
You can export a obj to a specifyed path. The obj will saved every time you click the render or the generate button but only used when you check the Use OBJ under the Render Options.

Nearly the same with the OCS Export. With that you can generate a simple ocs file. This file will not be overwritten when you check the Use OCS under the Render Options.
When you check that, then Octane will use it.
The logic is, that you can generate a ocs and press the render button. Under Octane set the materials you want and save the ocs. Every time you click then the render button, Octane will load your modifyed ocs.

The image output is simple. Here you can specify the file and path, where Octan save the image. The image name becomes the filename and the current frame, also test005.png.

Under the Objects tab is only a object picker. With that you can pick the objects which you want to export. When you don´t use it, Softimage will export all objects. Hidden inclusive.
To switch from picked objects to all, you can use the picker and click with the right mousbutton.

This plugin will run under Softimage 7.5-2011 32+64bit. I hope :mrgreen:


Hope thats all and you have understand what i´ve written ;)
Questions and suggestions are welcome.


Happy playing...
Face
Attachments
oct1.gif
oct1.gif (12.48 KiB) Viewed 3175 times
oct3.gif
oct3.gif (12.73 KiB) Viewed 3175 times
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby radiance » Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:24 am

radiance Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:24 am
Hey,

Nice work, but should'nt this be in the resources forum ?
I'll move it, everyone can still see it there...

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby face » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:22 am

face Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:22 am
radiance wrote:Hey,

Nice work, but should'nt this be in the resources forum ?
I'll move it, everyone can still see it there...

Radiance

Yes, you´re right, but i thought that the demo users should use it too.
Or have they not the commandline?
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby radiance » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:29 am

radiance Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:29 am
face wrote:
radiance wrote:Hey,

Nice work, but should'nt this be in the resources forum ?
I'll move it, everyone can still see it there...

Radiance

Yes, you´re right, but i thought that the demo users should use it too.
Or have they not the commandline?


they do but they can't save png files... (for 2.2 this is, currently the demo of 2.1 has arguments disabled)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby face » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:51 am

face Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:51 am
radiance wrote:
face wrote:
radiance wrote:Hey,

Nice work, but should'nt this be in the resources forum ?
I'll move it, everyone can still see it there...

Radiance

Yes, you´re right, but i thought that the demo users should use it too.
Or have they not the commandline?


they do but they can't save png files... (for 2.2 this is, currently the demo of 2.1 has arguments disabled)

Radiance

Ah, ok.
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby face » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:52 am

face Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:52 am
Here is a little fast maked howto how the option "Use OCS" work.
http://www.vimeo.com/11352442
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby denfound » Sat May 01, 2010 1:07 pm

denfound Sat May 01, 2010 1:07 pm
Yes thank you very much face :)

I will test it !!!
When i have time -_-;
Image
WIN 8 x64 | Geforce 680GTX 4Go | i7 3930k | 32GB
User avatar
denfound
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:06 am

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby mlody47 » Sat May 01, 2010 4:22 pm

mlody47 Sat May 01, 2010 4:22 pm
I love You face:)
i7 2600K + 2X gtx 580 + GTX 560 Ti + 8gbram + Win7 +
AUTODESK SOFTIMAGE 2012
www.behance.net/mlody47
User avatar
mlody47
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:02 pm
Location: Warsaw Poland

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby face » Sat May 01, 2010 4:27 pm

face Sat May 01, 2010 4:27 pm
mlody47 wrote:I love You face:)

Thank ;)

Now the batchrender routine is finished.
I upload currently a file to vimeo to show the result...
Last edited by face on Sat May 01, 2010 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Softimage to Octane exporter

Postby mlody47 » Sat May 01, 2010 4:30 pm

mlody47 Sat May 01, 2010 4:30 pm
I just watched it :) its stunning :) and You even made pick camera ( so I ll have my camera presets already in XSI :D ) its awesome.

Really appreciate Your effort , skills and time doing this.
i7 2600K + 2X gtx 580 + GTX 560 Ti + 8gbram + Win7 +
AUTODESK SOFTIMAGE 2012
www.behance.net/mlody47
User avatar
mlody47
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:02 pm
Location: Warsaw Poland
Next

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:01 pm [ UTC ]