[20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Forums: [20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

[20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Postby grimm » Sat Dec 21, 2019 10:11 pm

grimm Sat Dec 21, 2019 10:11 pm
Hi,

I tried to use the Triplanar Projection node, but it doesn't work and also does not show any controls at all, like blend angle? Box projection does work, but I don't get the same amount of control over the projection. Thanks,

Jason
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.59
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

Re: [20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Postby DrawFun » Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:41 am

DrawFun Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:41 am
Hello grimm,

Thanks for your post.
The Triplanar projection works in conjunction with a Triplanar Tex. And the settings like blend angle are in the Triplanar Tex as well. You can find it by search or under the Octane Procedural sub-menu.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: [20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Postby grimm » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:39 pm

grimm Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:39 pm
Thanks Drawfun, I got it working. My only problem now is that I can't get it to work with displacement.

displacement-triplanar.png


I like that the Triplanar Tex node is very flexible, but it would be nice to have a single texture input pin that would just place the image on all 6 planes at once.

Jason
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.59
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

Re: [20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Postby J.C » Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:30 pm

J.C Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:30 pm
grimm wrote:... My only problem now is that I can't get it to work with displacement.
...
Jason


You need to use either Vertex displacement or use bake node to drive the Texture displacement.
Texture displacement only works with bitmap textures on UV'ed meshes or with baked textures.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [20.6] Triplanar Projection node doesn't work

Postby grimm » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:34 am

grimm Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:34 am
Thanks J.C., that worked. :)
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.59
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:08 am [ UTC ]