Archive ORBX still renders image?

Forums: Archive ORBX still renders image?
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: juanjgon

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby WhyGee » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:39 pm

WhyGee Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Hi,
I'm trying to archive a scene to Orbx/alembic with "Export without render scene" checked but it still calculates the image itself. Could you confirm or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby juanjgon » Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:37 pm

juanjgon Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:37 pm
With the "Export without render scene" option enabled the plugin should export the files without render the scene. Do you have a scene that render the images while exporting the scene with this option enabled?

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby WhyGee » Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:55 am

WhyGee Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:55 am
Hi
Sorry for the delayed response.
So it happens when Rendering Mode is set to Full Scene Reload. Otherwise it works fine but not everything in the animation updates properly.
Could you possibly check urgently and provide a quick fix if possible? On a tight deadline and would like to render on a friend's machine as well.

Thank you!
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:12 am

juanjgon Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:12 am
Yes, only while rendering in "update" mode you can write animated .orbx files. Unfortunately some features can't be updated, for example objects with variable topology, update some parameters and so on. This is why we added the "full scene reload" mode.

What can't be updated in your scene while rendering in update mode?

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby WhyGee » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:55 am

WhyGee Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:55 am
I haven't checked exactly why it only renders correctly in Full Reload even when rendering the animation straight from houdini. I guess it has to do with those limitations you've mentioned. I have CHOPS controlling timewarps on many things so maybe something there is not updating.

Thanks
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby WhyGee » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:57 am

WhyGee Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:57 am
Is it possible to have it export to standalone per frame? I'm assuming this way the Update mode would work as if Full Reload no?
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:03 am

juanjgon Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:03 am
Yes, I suppose that you could export only one frame to each .orbx file if you set the same start and end frame in the ROP node. Perhaps you could need a script controling the ROP node to export all the frames of your animation.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archive ORBX still renders image?

Postby WhyGee » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:50 am

WhyGee Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:50 am
Thanks!
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:03 pm [ UTC ]