GPU Memory

Forums: GPU Memory
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

GPU Memory

Postby galleon27 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:26 pm

galleon27 Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:26 pm
Hello, i have a question regarding GPU memory. I have a huge model, 15 million polys, 50 million points. When i try to render it, Octane crashes and i get a CUDA_ERROR_OUT_OF_MEMORY: out of memory. (attached screenshot). So im guessing i don't have enough GPU ram and that is fine, it happens, doesn't really surprise me. The problem is that when i load the model directly in standalone, it works just fine, and the GPU usage is not even close to being full. It was at like 30-40%. So my question is why does that happen? What is the difference? Are there some other factors that i'm not accounting for?
Attachments
Annotation 2020-04-29 191902.png
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: GPU Memory

Postby juanjgon » Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:24 pm

juanjgon Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:24 pm
The display GPU can have a lot less memory available when Octane is working inside Houdini because Houdini can be used a lot of VRAM for its own OpenGL viewports. Do you have the same problem if you disable the display GPU?

If it is a GPU memory issue, perhaps enabling the out of core feature could help.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8175
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: GPU Memory

Postby galleon27 » Fri May 01, 2020 9:50 pm

galleon27 Fri May 01, 2020 9:50 pm
juanjgon wrote:The display GPU can have a lot less memory available when Octane is working inside Houdini because Houdini can be used a lot of VRAM for its own OpenGL viewports. Do you have the same problem if you disable the display GPU?

If it is a GPU memory issue, perhaps enabling the out of core feature could help.

Thanks,
-Juanjo


I've done some tests, rendering with all combinations of GPUs, only seconday GPU, only display GPU, then both turned on.
My main GPU is 1080ti and my second one is a 1080 so i don't really think its a GPU memory problem since the scene is 3gbs. I had no issues when rendering with a single GPU. The issue arises when i turn both of them on. Every single time i try to render with both of them, the scene loads and starts to render and at some point IPR goes "gray" and it unloads the object. (see attached images)
Attachments
Annotation 2020-04-30 005340.png
Annotation 2020-04-30 010329.png
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: GPU Memory

Postby juanjgon » Sun May 03, 2020 5:13 pm

juanjgon Sun May 03, 2020 5:13 pm
Can you send me this scene to take a look at it here? Meanwhile, perhaps as a workaround, you could try to break this object in two, to have individual objects with less amount of geo information. If this helps, it could point to the origin of the problem. In any case it is really weird that the same doesn't happen in Standalone, if both Standalone and the plugin are the same version.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8175
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: GPU Memory

Postby galleon27 » Sun May 03, 2020 5:57 pm

galleon27 Sun May 03, 2020 5:57 pm
Unfortunately i can't share the model as it is a production model. In the end i just assembled the whole scene in Standalone so its not really a big problem. I'll try and break the object and see if that helps.
And since i can't share this model, i'll try and replicate the issue with a model that i can share.

Thanks.
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: GPU Memory

Postby galleon27 » Thu May 07, 2020 6:29 pm

galleon27 Thu May 07, 2020 6:29 pm
Ok so after some more testing i've come to the conclusion that it not an Octane problem. I had to reinstall my system, switched my display gpu from 1080ti to 1080 and now everything works fine. So i guess something in my setup was at fault. Thanks anyway.
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: GPU Memory

Postby juanjgon » Thu May 07, 2020 6:31 pm

juanjgon Thu May 07, 2020 6:31 pm
No problem! I'm glad that the problem has been resolved.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8175
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Apr 18, 2021 6:42 am [ UTC ]