ORBX overlay on Spherical Web Experience

Forums: ORBX overlay on Spherical Web Experience
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

ORBX overlay on Spherical Web Experience

Postby jingles » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:18 pm

jingles Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:18 pm
I'm a 3D animator/octane-user working with a digital agency to create animations within a 360 webGL / threeJS environment.

Would ORBX be an appropriate file type in the workflow? More specifically, think of a google Streetview environment but with a couple basic animated objects placed in the world.

I'm working with a strong dev team who are constantly looking to implement new technology.

Hope someone can shed some light on this.
Thanks
jingles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Re: ORBX overlay on Spherical Web Experience

Postby Goldorak » Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:01 pm

Goldorak Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:01 pm
On the Gear VR we currently support overlays with alpha either through PNG/EXR/OKX cube maps (for stills or frame seq. w/alpha) or mp4 video with the bottom half using alpha if it is meant to be transparent. For alpha stereo videos, you append the mp4 file with _TBLR to let the ORBX player know it is a special video type with transparency+stereo properties.

We have ZIP packages working, and will be pushing that update to the Gear VR store next week.
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team

Postby jingles » Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:13 pm

jingles Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:13 pm
Thanks Goldorak. Can the file type be used to package 3D polygonal shapes which could be parsed (?) by threejs?

The Gear VR OToy media player and OctaneRender's ORBX file output turned me on to this potential, though am looking to use this in a non-VR capacity.

I'm hitting walls trying to figure out how to get animated/baked 3D shapes into this streetview experience and hoping this may be an alt option.

Thanks
jingles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Postby Goldorak » Sun Nov 01, 2015 8:45 pm