Page 1 of 2

License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:43 pm
by ronjart
I own a license for octane standalone as well as the 3ds Max plugin. I'd like to work on some stereo cubemaps. Can I do that with my license? My trail for octane VR has expired, and from what I understand the metastases contest has ended. So can I still produce VR content and if so, what license do I use?

Thanks

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:01 am
by glimpse
OctanVR is technically OctaneRender with some limitations, so if You want to produce VR content simply get OctaneRender Standalone licence + plugin (if You need any) & enjoy working.

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 6:49 am
by ronjart
Great news! Thank you for taking the time to answer my question.

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:39 am
by LuvMultimedia
HI,

Where can I purchase the VR version--when I click on the link it simply says the trial period is over and I don't see a place where I can get the buy the VR version

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:43 am
by ronjart
I dont think there is a VR version anymore. That was just a limited time offer. Now you can just buy the regular, full version to create VR content.

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:48 am
by LuvMultimedia
Ohhhhhh...thing is, I want to create VR animation for a client and can't for the life of me figure out how to animate smoothly in octane ( I need access to the panoramic camera which I don't have in my native software). I use an alembic transporter but the object comes in 1000 times scale. When I try to do what some have suggested, creating an obcx file and pulling the alebmic in there (drag and drop method) to replace the static obj., it won't accept the .abc file....are there any tutorials on how to do this with a full scene ( not just with the single animated obj...??)

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:15 am
by bepeg4d
Hi,
you can change the scale of an .abc node in any time from the specific edit icon in the node inspector:
Schermata 2015-10-17 alle 10.06.03.jpg
Schermata 2015-10-17 alle 10.06.03.jpg (15.67 KiB) Viewed 4604 times

You can't use drag and drop to change a node from obj to abc, just detach the obj node from the mesh group and import the replacing abc node and connect it to the mesh group:
Schermata 2015-10-17 alle 10.08.10.jpg

ciao beppe

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:28 am
by LuvMultimedia
Ohhh thank you! That rawks!

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:29 am
by LuvMultimedia
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
you can change the scale of an .abc node in any time from the specific edit icon in the node inspector:
Schermata 2015-10-17 alle 10.06.03.jpg

You can't use drag and drop to change a node from obj to abc, just detach the obj node from the mesh group and import the replacing abc node and connect it to the mesh group:
Schermata 2015-10-17 alle 10.08.10.jpg

ciao beppe



I can't thank you enough -- question -- if it's a big scene there are a lot of connections to make--is there a way to circumvent that?

Re: License for Octane VR

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 4:13 pm
by bepeg4d
Hi,
here is a Lua script for helping in the substitution of an obj static mesh with an alembic scene file:
FromOBJtoABC.lua
(2.26 KiB) Downloaded 219 times

Schermata 2015-10-18 alle 17.58.20.jpg

The script connect the materials only if the names of the alembic pins is identical.
you need to select both the obj, with all the materials that need to be transfer exposed as external node in the graph editor, and the abc node where to transfer the materials and then run the script.
Schermata 2015-10-18 alle 17.59.11.jpg

it should end up with something like this, now all you need to do is to connect the abc node in place of the obj one. I have had not so much time for testing it in different conditions, so, please let me know if you have any issues ;)

Here is another script, but this time as a scripted graph that can be imported via orbx directly in the graph editor. What it does is to transform an alembic camera into an Octane Thin-lens camera node or panoramic camera node:
viewtopic.php?f=73&t=49960#p247572
ciao beppe