Bump Preview on Cube

Forums: Bump Preview on Cube
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Bump Preview on Cube

Postby Creative_Sheep » Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:26 pm

Creative_Sheep Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:26 pm
Why is the preview for the bump map correct, but not on the cube ?
Attachments
Bump_onCube.jpg
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby whersmy » Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:20 pm

whersmy Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:20 pm
As I recall it could be the scene scale. I actually never check the material preview. Usually I just preview the material in the viewport using render region. That is almost always fast enough, and moreover contains the scene lighting. If not, I only load in the mesh and tweak it (mesh/scene -> connected to the rendertarget) :idea:
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby Creative_Sheep » Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:22 pm

Creative_Sheep Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:22 pm
How do I adjust the scene scale so that it's accurate with the size of the objects ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby whersmy » Sat Apr 10, 2021 9:25 am

whersmy Sat Apr 10, 2021 9:25 am
Well basically you should always work in real-life metrics.

I don`t think you have to adjust the scale of the scene. It`s just a matter of scaling the map on the object in your scene.
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby Creative_Sheep » Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:08 am

Creative_Sheep Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:08 am
whersmy wrote:Well basically you should always work in real-life metrics.

I don`t think you have to adjust the scale of the scene. It`s just a matter of scaling the map on the object in your scene.


How do you get this setup in Octane, with regards to real-life metrics ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby whersmy » Sun Apr 11, 2021 11:17 pm

whersmy Sun Apr 11, 2021 11:17 pm
Good question. I think if you just model/compose the scene in real-life metrics and export as .obj, Octane loads it in nicely. You might want to edit the import optins (from M to mm). :!:
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby Creative_Sheep » Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:10 am

Creative_Sheep Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:10 am
whersmy wrote:Good question. I think if you just model/compose the scene in real-life metrics and export as .obj, Octane loads it in nicely. You might want to edit the import optins (from M to mm). :!:


Hopefully someone at Octane can answer. I understand one can take their mesh, export it out of a program when working in Standalone in my case; or even if it's a plugin but how do I get the right measurements for Octane ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:25 am

bepeg4d Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:25 am
Hi,
everything in Standalone is in meters, so if you use the Box projection, you can correctly scale your map, based on real life measures.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8279
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Bump Preview on Cube

Postby Creative_Sheep » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:56 am

Creative_Sheep Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:56 am
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
everything in Standalone is in meters, so if you use the Box projection, you can correctly scale your map, based on real life measures.

ciao Beppe


If everything is in meters for standalone, how about Octane for Houdini; meters as well ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sun May 16, 2021 1:08 am [ UTC ]