Layered material issue

Forums: Layered material issue
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Layered material issue

Postby J.C » Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:26 pm

J.C Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:26 pm
A - Windows 10
B - 4xRTX 2080
C - 8GB
D - Studio driver 442.92
E - v2020.1
F - 2020.1 R7
G - C4d r21

Any material from list can not be added to Layered material as a base material. It's only possible to add base material using button (add material).
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Layered material issue

Postby aoktar » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:59 pm

aoktar Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:59 pm
Why don't you think that's the way you should use rather than saying BUG? It's how it works.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Layered material issue

Postby J.C » Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:25 pm

J.C Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:25 pm
This makes no sense for me. Mix works for normal materials. Other only for sub materials. Why it is that way? Looks like a bug, not a feature.
In Standalone there is no such limitation. All materials work with mix, layered and composite.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Layered material issue

Postby aoktar » Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:55 pm

aoktar Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:55 pm
J.C wrote:This makes no sense for me. Mix works for normal materials. Other only for sub materials. Why it is that way? Looks like a bug, not a feature.
In Standalone there is no such limitation. All materials work with mix, layered and composite.

I can't do anything for your feeling! It has to be like that to fit all sub materials in to one material space.

Note that:
Sub material = octane material in texture form, so composite material can store sub materials
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Layered material issue

Postby J.C » Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:28 am

J.C Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:28 am
C4D plugin. Only submatrials. Not all available.
c4d plugin composite.png


Standalone. All materials available.
composite standalone.png


What if I want to have one common material that is used across few other layered/composite materials? Any change to that common material would be seen instantly in other materials. In current workflow I would have to adjust every single materials to make a change.

Why not to give user an option to use either Sub material or Standard materials?
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Layered material issue

Postby aoktar » Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:39 am

aoktar Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:39 am
Explained why I chose this way. It's to avoid problems of mix material system. Keeping all stored in a compact way.
You can still convert octane materials to sub materials and connect. There's a command in node editor for doing this
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:28 am [ UTC ]