Incorrect glass alpha

Forums: Incorrect glass alpha
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:35 pm

Scrudje Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:35 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
I see, yes I suppose something goes wrong, I will ask to developers.
Meanwhile a workaround is creating an environment to use in Octane DayLight refractions/reflecliotions.
Regards
Paride



Thanks for example, but its not what i want. Your final image have only object mask and does not have alpha(transparency IN glass), glass "bake" red background and its not transparent. If check "Alpha channel" you receive transparent alpha channel but it will cut a part of refractions/reflections and any compose here will not help.

I sell images on microstocks like canva.com and they need PNG with truthful opacity. End user have to drug&drop this png image to its own background without using any blend modes.

The best solution that support team do in this case:

1. Сorrect BUG with the displayed information in Alpha channel
2. User render image with glass only once with passes for compose: beauty,reflections,refractions, object id and alpha/opacity channel mask
3. Than it save it to exr or tiff.
4. Open it in PS, blend passes as he will consider necessary. Group it all.
5. Go to "channels" and take ALPHA/OPACITY MASK for this group.

why still otoy did not make it I do not understand - it is basic functions of any post-production((((
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:55 pm

paride4331 Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:55 pm
Scrudje wrote:
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
I see, yes I suppose something goes wrong, I will ask to developers.
Meanwhile a workaround is creating an environment to use in Octane DayLight refractions/reflecliotions.
Regards
Paride



Thanks for example, but its not what i want. Your final image have only object mask and does not have alpha(transparency IN glass), glass "bake" red background and its not transparent. If check "Alpha channel" you receive transparent alpha channel but it will cut a part of refractions/reflections and any compose here will not help.

I sell images on microstocks like canva.com and they need PNG with truthful opacity. End user have to drug&drop this png image to its own background without using any blend modes.

The best solution that support team do in this case:

1. Сorrect BUG with the displayed information in Alpha channel
2. User render image with glass only once with passes for compose: beauty,reflections,refractions, object id and alpha/opacity channel mask
3. Than it save it to exr or tiff.
4. Open it in PS, blend passes as he will consider necessary. Group it all.
5. Go to "channels" and take ALPHA/OPACITY MASK for this group.

why still otoy did not make it I do not understand - it is basic functions of any post-production((((



I used red light panel then red color is a reflection, not a bake.
Attachments
arc.jpg
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:35 pm

Scrudje Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:35 pm
paride4331 wrote:
Scrudje wrote:
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
I see, yes I suppose something goes wrong, I will ask to developers.
Meanwhile a workaround is creating an environment to use in Octane DayLight refractions/reflecliotions.
Regards
Paride



Thanks for example, but its not what i want. Your final image have only object mask and does not have alpha(transparency IN glass), glass "bake" red background and its not transparent. If check "Alpha channel" you receive transparent alpha channel but it will cut a part of refractions/reflections and any compose here will not help.

I sell images on microstocks like canva.com and they need PNG with truthful opacity. End user have to drug&drop this png image to its own background without using any blend modes.

The best solution that support team do in this case:

1. Сorrect BUG with the displayed information in Alpha channel
2. User render image with glass only once with passes for compose: beauty,reflections,refractions, object id and alpha/opacity channel mask
3. Than it save it to exr or tiff.
4. Open it in PS, blend passes as he will consider necessary. Group it all.
5. Go to "channels" and take ALPHA/OPACITY MASK for this group.

why still otoy did not make it I do not understand - it is basic functions of any post-production((((



I used red light panel then red color is a reflection, not a bake.


I was already tired to discuss this problem. If you have communication with developers please send them files which I attached to this message. There everything is clear. Thank you
Attachments
2.jpg
1.jpg
test.zip
(45.78 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:31 am

paride4331 Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:31 am
Hi Scrudje,
this issue will be fixed on next Octane for 3dSMax release.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby ramone163 » Fri Apr 19, 2019 12:27 pm

ramone163 Fri Apr 19, 2019 12:27 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
this issue will be fixed on next Octane for 3dSMax release.
Regards
Paride


Thank you
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm
Previous

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:02 am [ UTC ]