OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby bcravin » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:51 pm

bcravin Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:51 pm
Thanks Karba for fixing MB. I will test my scenes today.

I go through waves of excitement about Octane. I dive into it until I hit a glitch/limitation that makes it impossible for me to get the results that I need for a final shot. I began diving in again once I saw this release, immediately I run into another wall.

I have seen many posts about the Matte Objects and how they are not Ideal. I am rendering a ship that I need to composite into a live action shot. I try to render the ship with a ground plane that has a Diffuse Material and the Matte button selected. Nothing else is in the scene to account for the shadowing that is hitting the ground plane. Am I doing something wrong? If so, can I get some guidance?

I'm also running into an issue when I set my Motion Blur Duration to .5 my "enable motion blur" radial button begins working in reverse. I turn on Motion Blur and it turns off, and when I turn off Motion Blur it turns on.

You also may want to change the default motion blur to .5 as that is more of a standard motion blur according to film and such. I'm assuming that Motion Blur Duration is equivalent to Shutter Speeds (in real world) Duration of 1 would be equal to 1/24 or 360 degree shutter, this means that shutter stays open for the entire duration of that frame. Film Standard is 180 degree shutter, 1/48, or .5 for Motion Blur Duration. (Just a thought)
Attachments
Ship.0001.jpg
ShipAlpha.0001.jpg
bcravin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 1:29 am
Location: Detroit

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby HHbomb » Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:29 pm

HHbomb Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:29 pm
do you checked "alphacannel" ?
| seven 64 | i7 5930K + titanX + 1050 for video | i7 3970 + 4 x titan | i7 5960 + 4 x titanX | 3dsmax 2018 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby bcravin » Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:02 pm

bcravin Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:02 pm
Yes.
bcravin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 1:29 am
Location: Detroit

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby oguzbir » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:39 pm

oguzbir Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:39 pm
bcravin wrote:
I have seen many posts about the Matte Objects and how they are not Ideal. I am rendering a ship that I need to composite into a live action shot. I try to render the ship with a ground plane that has a Diffuse Material and the Matte button selected. Nothing else is in the scene to account for the shadowing that is hitting the ground plane. Am I doing something wrong? If so, can I get some guidance?


For eliminating the overall unwanted shadow on the ground plane.
You'll need to test if turning off Importance sampling work.
Besure to set the kernel to ambient shadow.

But I guess that functionality no more working in the recent 2.15. Maybe I'm wrong but maybe it's a bug.
To be sure test this with v2.13

Hope it helps.
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:25 pm [ UTC ]