Page 1 of 3

Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:21 pm
by gmillas
Here is a script that animates a camera from a camera-target position file. It uses ffmpeg for the video creation.

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:26 am
by Tugpsx
Thanks, can you provide an example of the camera path file, we would need to know the format in order to create the proper file.

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:47 am
by gmillas
The format is realy simple
6 numbers comma sepparated for each frame
ct= camera target
cp= camera position
ct_x,ct_y,ct_z,cp_x,cp_y,cp_z
this is 10 frames below
0.711095,0.006908,0.740605,1.506082,0.006908,1.289226
0.711095,0.017258,0.740605,1.506082,0.017258,1.289226
0.711095,0.027608,0.740605,1.506082,0.027608,1.289226
0.711095,0.037958,0.740605,1.506082,0.037958,1.289226
0.711095,0.048308,0.740605,1.506082,0.048308,1.289226
0.711095,0.058658,0.740605,1.506082,0.058658,1.289226
0.711095,0.069008,0.740605,1.506082,0.069008,1.289226
0.711095,0.079358,0.740605,1.506082,0.079358,1.289226
0.711095,0.089708,0.740605,1.506082,0.089708,1.289226
0.711095,0.100058,0.740605,1.506082,0.100058,1.289226

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:21 am
by Tugpsx
Getting error
Code: Select all
Expecting a 3-component vector


so it appears there may be an issue with the formatting

Also note that ffmpeg.exe is required but not included http://www.ffmpeg.org/download.html
Windows build http://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:28 am
by gmillas
Are you putting the given data in a file and gives you this error ?

for ffmpeg the only till now solution is to be in c:\Program Files\OTOY\OctaneRender\ffmpeg.exe

i will figure later on hoe i can setup the script to find it on its own ...

( do you have the 1.50 standalone version of octane ?)

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:27 am
by gmillas
And time estimation

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:53 am
by Tugpsx
Using 1.52 standalone will try this new script.
Yes I copied the coordinates portion into a text file without headers.
ffmpgerror1.JPG
ffmpeg

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:01 am
by gmillas
Ok fixed ...
Thanks

in this version you must put ffmpeg.exe in the lua script directory


..

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:23 pm
by MB
I think there is a problem with the command line that this script builds and send to ffmpeg, it will not handle file names or directory paths with spaces in them.

Does anyone know what the correct syntax would be to fix this.

many thanks

Mark

Re: Camera Path Animation

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:08 pm
by kavorka
How do you create the camera path position file?