Page 1 of 1

VDB Artifact

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:46 pm
by p3taoctane
I am combining two VDB volumes and it looks like the smaller VDB bounding box region is showing through.

Any ideas what may be causing this?

Thanks

Peter

Two_VDB_Artifacts_JPG.jpg

Re: VDB Artifact

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:20 am
by bepeg4d
Hi Peter,
do you have different Step length values between the two?
ciao beppe

Re: VDB Artifact

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:46 pm
by p3taoctane
Yeah same step values... I attached the packaged file to see if that helps pinpoint it.

I am guessing because the original VDB's are of different scale ... bu that is an uneducated guess : > )

Thanks man

Peter

VDb_SmokeTestPackaged.zip
(78.98 MiB) Downloaded 150 times

Re: VDB Artifact

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:54 am
by bepeg4d
Hi Peter,
here is my attempt:
VDb_SmokeTestPackaged_B.orbx.zip
(79.21 MiB) Downloaded 155 times

the two vdb files are differnt, one has the temperature grid while the other not.
I have changed the scale values to match the max values, I have also reduced the step leght at 0.4 and now the overlapping cube seems gone:
Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.42.48.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.43.27.jpg

ciao beppe

Re: VDB Artifact

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:36 pm
by p3taoctane
You are the man!!!!

I have lots to learn on volumes aye.

Many thanks for your help

Peter