Photogrammetry with captured roughness/reflection

Forums: Photogrammetry with captured roughness/reflection
Discuss or ask critique about your current works
Forum rules
Important notice: All artwork submitted on our public gallery forums gallery forums may or may not be used by OTOY for publication on our website gallery.
If you do not want us to publish your art, please mention it in your post clearly. (put a very red small diagonal cross in the left right corner of the image)
Any images already published on the gallery will be removed if the original author asks us to do so.
We recommend placing your credits on the images so you benefit from the exposure too, and use a minimum image width of 1200 pixels, and use pathtracing or PMC. Thanks for your attention, The OctaneRender Team.


For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.

This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Photogrammetry with captured roughness/reflection

Postby itsallgoode9 » Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:09 pm

itsallgoode9 Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:09 pm
how does one capture roughness maps with lighting? I know how to do reflection already but cannot figure out (or even find online methods via research) of how to do roughness.
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: Photogrammetry with captured roughness/reflection

Postby Hesekiel2517 » Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:22 pm

Hesekiel2517 Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:22 pm
I don't know a "correct" way of capturing roughness. I just capture the reflection and take this as an starting point to make a roughness map.
Hesekiel2517
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: Photogrammetry with captured roughness/reflection

Postby itsallgoode9 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 5:43 pm

itsallgoode9 Mon Aug 03, 2020 5:43 pm
ah, gotcha. that's what I've been doing as well--which works well enough with some tweaking. I thought you were specifically capturing roughness, like you would spec or something :lol:
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City
Previous

Return to Works In Progress


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Nov 23, 2020 8:11 pm [ UTC ]