Page 1 of 12

OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:25 am
by face_off
Pls read http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/2016/03/before-you-submit-octane-support.html prior to posting support issues.

NOTE 1: For users who experience a DAZStudio crash - deleting C:\Users\[username]\OctaneRender\Data\OctaneRender_settings.oczdb may resolve the issue.

NOTE 2: For users having an issue where the Save button is disabled if using the Final button - disable the Final button and in Render settings select the SuperScope (2:1) Size / aspect ratio and drag the Viewport height or width until you reach required resolution.

NOTE 3: For users having an issue where rendering an animation fails after 11 frames - make sure the DAZStudio viewport is visible when you render the animation.

NOTE 4: If Octane materials are not loading when you load a previously saved scene - tick Preferences->Load OctaneRender materials from .duf user presets. If ticking this option does not stick between DAZStudio restarts, delete OctaneRender_settings.oczdb as per NOTE 1 above.

NOTE 5: If you get a "Could not save a frame for X times!", please refer to the thread at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=66258 for potential solutions.

NOTE 6: If you get a "Bogus Scene Path" error - this is due to having an apostrophe in the filepath of a texturemap (so store your textures in foldernames which do not have apostrophes).

This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio - TEST (ie. pre-release) and STABLE releases.

DAZ Studio Version
DAZ Studio 4.8 or later on Window Vista, 7, 8 or 10 64bit

License upgrade
Unless you have a subscription license, you will have to upgrade your version 3 licenses to version 4. This upgrade is free and can be done via these 4 steps:

Pls see https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69646 for more information on licensing.

To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.

Network Rendering
For Network Rendering, you must use the Octane slave release from the Octane Standalone installer which matches the exact Octane version of the plugin you are using. This version matches OctaneRender Standalone 4.00.

Support Issues
If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- DAZ Studio version
- OctaneRender for DAZ Studio version (ie. 2.24.2.1)

- The most important part of resolving a problem is me being able to re-produce that problem. So pls provide as much detail as possible in order for me to do this, and if the problem is specific to the scene, send me the scene.

Download Links

Current STABLE build (Octane 4.04)


Previous STABLE build (Octane 4.02.1)


Release Notes

4.04.0.44 (25-May-2019)
- Compiled with Octane 4.04

4.02.1.44 (15-Feb-2019)
- Compiled with Octane 4.02.1

4.02.0.44 (01-Feb-2019)
- Compiled with Octane 4.02
- Fixed bug setting the Map Import Path and Map Cache Path
- Changed the default Sunlight environment power from 1.5 to 1
- Changed the default Sunlight environment power from 1.75 to 1
- Changed the default Imager settings to a response of sRGB with gamma 1.0

4.01.1.43 (19-Dec-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.01.1
- Added preliminary support for the Planetary Environment

4.00.0.42 (19-Dec-2018)
- Attempt to fix a crash when changing the node type in a material

4.00.0.41 (21-Nov-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 (To learn more about the new features and improvements of OctaneRender 4, please check out our blog post.)

4.00.0.40 (23-Oct-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC6
- Removed the GPU Throttling option
- Removed the Restart Driver option
- Added Open Device Settings button to the System tab
- Added Denoiser pins to the Imager Settings. Enabling Denoising then enabled the viewing of the De Main render pass (once the denoising pass has commenced)0
- Kernel->Light ID's are not working correctly
- Added additional Octane 4.00 render passes
- Added Kernel AI Light options

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:28 am
by rajib
Thanks Paul :),

Downloading it now. Will try it out. Hopefully the issues I was facing with the RC builds will not be there anymore.

Best regards,
Rajib

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:32 pm
by Hydra
I can't understand this licensing or what it wants me to do, or even what the ramifications are for upgrading from 3 to 4 and whether that affects my old licenses.

If I upgrade can I even use my old product without paying an annual fee? There is zero information.

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:47 pm
by face_off
There is zero information.
Pls see https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69646

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:43 am
by rajib
Hydra wrote:I can't understand this licensing or what it wants me to do, or even what the ramifications are for upgrading from 3 to 4 and whether that affects my old licenses.

If I upgrade can I even use my old product without paying an annual fee? There is zero information.


Hi Hydra,

I was on a non-subscription perpetual license. I was able to upgrade to Octane 4 at zero cost (non-subscription perpetual license). Am able to use Octane 4 Plugin without any licensing issue.

Regards,
Rajib

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:52 am
by rajib
rajib wrote:Thanks Paul :),

Downloading it now. Will try it out. Hopefully the issues I was facing with the RC builds will not be there anymore.

Best regards,
Rajib


Hi Paul,

I can confirm I am not getting any of the issues I was facing with the Octane 4 RC version. But now I am getting a crash very often when I fiddle with the material in NGE. It always is at the same Octane::ApiColor method in the octane plugin dll. In most of the crash instances I was changing the Diffuse Texture. It crashed after I selected the new texture.

Crash.jpg
Crash


Daz Studio Pro - 4:10.123
Octane Plugin - 4.0.0.41
Ram - 128GB
GPU - RTX 2080 TI x5
OS - Windows 10 Pro x64
Nvidia - v416.94

Regards,
Rajib

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:24 am
by MyRho
Hi.

I've upgraded my license for the standalone and for the DAZ-plugin - everything is working fine...
But when I render one of my old scenes in DS or when I try to render a new one the results are very "pixelated".
I've checked the settings for the camera - there have been no changes since I've opened the scenes in the V3-plugin.
I can see artifacts in the pictures, the colours seem to be ...pale (don't know how to describe it) and the quality of the renderings is very poor (I'm rendering in 2.400 x 1.800 px on a GTX 1080, all drivers are the newest ones from NVidia)

Mathias

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:40 pm
by face_off
I've upgraded my license for the standalone and for the DAZ-plugin - everything is working fine...
But when I render one of my old scenes in DS or when I try to render a new one the results are very "pixelated".
I've checked the settings for the camera - there have been no changes since I've opened the scenes in the V3-plugin.
I can see artifacts in the pictures, the colours seem to be ...pale (don't know how to describe it) and the quality of the renderings is very poor (I'm rendering in 2.400 x 1.800 px on a GTX 1080, all drivers are the newest ones from NVidia)
Hi Mathias - can you post some before and after screenshots showing the issues you are having and also post your Imager and Kernel settings.

Thanks

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:29 pm
by gaazsi
seems i triggered a minor bug today

i merged a saved pose to another figure in daz studio, that worked out well, but beside that it completely erased all my saved render & enviroment settings in that scene

was no problem to import other saved settings again, but maybe have an eye on that :)

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:24 pm
by larsmidnatt
Just jumping in to say that I'm happy for this release, the fact we are still supported and even more happy it was a free upgrade. I want to thank everyone involved.

So far this is working for me, I haven't had a chance to use it extensively, but I will :) Initial testing suggests it has some measurable speed improvements. Great stuff, really.