Page 11 of 12

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 8:12 am
by face_off
I installed 4.02.1.44. I tried pulling down the 2018.1.0 but it won't authenticate because I don't have a subscription.
My license is for the non subscription version.
I am sorry you are having these issues. My best guess is that that version is not compatible with the latest Nvidia drivers. Can you pls test this theory by trying the DEMO version at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=71080.

Thanks

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:15 am
by face_off
I have added an Octane 2019.1 build of the plugin at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=72450.

Thanks

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:08 pm
by delguy
Hi,

I have observed that the plugin has not been updated for long time. Even as there is now DAZ Studio 4.12 as well with much more cool Iray. Also there is no way the settings stick to even when changed. And they change a lot. also hangs a lot and takes ages to render.

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:01 am
by face_off
I have observed that the plugin has not been updated for long time. Even as there is now DAZ Studio 4.12 as well with much more cool Iray. Also there is no way the settings stick to even when changed. And they change a lot. also hangs a lot and takes ages to render.
Plugin updates are available for Octane 2019.1 Studio and Enterprise subscription holders. OTOY recently announced that there will be an upgrade path for Octane 4 regular/perpetual license holders to Octane 2019.1.  Details and availability have not yet been announced.

If the settings (and I assume you mean the Preferences) are not saving, delete OctaneRender_settings.oczdb as per NOTE 4 at the top of this thread.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:27 pm
by delguy
face_off wrote:
I have observed that the plugin has not been updated for long time. Even as there is now DAZ Studio 4.12 as well with much more cool Iray. Also there is no way the settings stick to even when changed. And they change a lot. also hangs a lot and takes ages to render.
Plugin updates are available for Octane 2019.1 Studio and Enterprise subscription holders. OTOY recently announced that there will be an upgrade path for Octane 4 regular/perpetual license holders to Octane 2019.1.  Details and availability have not yet been announced.

If the settings (and I assume you mean the Preferences) are not saving, delete OctaneRender_settings.oczdb as per NOTE 4 at the top of this thread.

Paul


It is really sad to notice that the regular license is yet to be migrated to 2019 path. As a paid licensed user I expect that I would also get support on similar lines. It would be good if the V4 license is moved ASAP to 2019.
Also would be nice if it can be known what upgrades will come for us as no one will have both regular and a subscription license.

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:59 pm
by Veneris
delguy wrote:
face_off wrote:
I have observed that the plugin has not been updated for long time. Even as there is now DAZ Studio 4.12 as well with much more cool Iray. Also there is no way the settings stick to even when changed. And they change a lot. also hangs a lot and takes ages to render.
Plugin updates are available for Octane 2019.1 Studio and Enterprise subscription holders. OTOY recently announced that there will be an upgrade path for Octane 4 regular/perpetual license holders to Octane 2019.1.  Details and availability have not yet been announced.

If the settings (and I assume you mean the Preferences) are not saving, delete OctaneRender_settings.oczdb as per NOTE 4 at the top of this thread.

Paul


It is really sad to notice that the regular license is yet to be migrated to 2019 path. As a paid licensed user I expect that I would also get support on similar lines. It would be good if the V4 license is moved ASAP to 2019.
Also would be nice if it can be known what upgrades will come for us as no one will have both regular and a subscription license.


I agree, I think the same as you. How do they give more importance to something that doesn't interest us?

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 1:07 am
by Veneris
- Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
- CPU: i7-5820k 3.30GHz
- Amount of RAM: 16 GB
- Graphics Card(s): 2x GTX TITAN X
- Nvidia driver version: 441.41
- DAZ Studio version: 4.12 Pro
- OctaneRender for DAZ Studio version: 4.40.44

17:22:39.420: +++++ Plugin running.
18:01:59.921: CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
18:01:59.922: -> failed to pin memory
18:01:59.923: device 0: failed to pin film buffer
18:01:59.925: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
18:02:00.115: CUDA error 2 on device 1: out of memory
18:02:00.116: -> failed to pin memory
18:02:00.118: device 1: failed to pin film buffer
18:02:02.924: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)

How can I solve this problem? Any animation I make only renders 36 minutes and freezes there. Then I have to cancel the rendering, close DAZ Studio and continue again in the next frame. The scene is only the face of a character with hair and clothes, making gestures (Facial Mocap).

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:12 am
by face_off
Veneris wrote:- Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
- CPU: i7-5820k 3.30GHz
- Amount of RAM: 16 GB
- Graphics Card(s): 2x GTX TITAN X
- Nvidia driver version: 441.41
- DAZ Studio version: 4.12 Pro
- OctaneRender for DAZ Studio version: 4.40.44

17:22:39.420: +++++ Plugin running.
18:01:59.921: CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
18:01:59.922: -> failed to pin memory
18:01:59.923: device 0: failed to pin film buffer
18:01:59.925: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
18:02:00.115: CUDA error 2 on device 1: out of memory
18:02:00.116: -> failed to pin memory
18:02:00.118: device 1: failed to pin film buffer
18:02:02.924: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)

How can I solve this problem? Any animation I make only renders 36 minutes and freezes there. Then I have to cancel the rendering, close DAZ Studio and continue again in the next frame. The scene is only the face of a character with hair and clothes, making gestures (Facial Mocap).
The second line in the log tells you exactly what is happening.
Code: Select all
18:01:59.921: CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
So you are running out of VRAM.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:21 pm
by Veneris
face_off wrote:
Veneris wrote:- Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
- CPU: i7-5820k 3.30GHz
- Amount of RAM: 16 GB
- Graphics Card(s): 2x GTX TITAN X
- Nvidia driver version: 441.41
- DAZ Studio version: 4.12 Pro
- OctaneRender for DAZ Studio version: 4.40.44

17:22:39.420: +++++ Plugin running.
18:01:59.921: CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
18:01:59.922: -> failed to pin memory
18:01:59.923: device 0: failed to pin film buffer
18:01:59.925: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
18:02:00.115: CUDA error 2 on device 1: out of memory
18:02:00.116: -> failed to pin memory
18:02:00.118: device 1: failed to pin film buffer
18:02:02.924: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)

How can I solve this problem? Any animation I make only renders 36 minutes and freezes there. Then I have to cancel the rendering, close DAZ Studio and continue again in the next frame. The scene is only the face of a character with hair and clothes, making gestures (Facial Mocap).
The second line in the log tells you exactly what is happening.
Code: Select all
18:01:59.921: CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
So you are running out of VRAM.

Paul


But how is that possible if I have 2 GTX TITAN X video cards? I'm just rendering this:
Image

Re: OctaneRender 4 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 9:13 pm
by face_off
But how is that possible if I have 2 GTX TITAN X video cards? I'm just rendering this:
Sorry - I have no way of knowing how much VRAM that scene takes, or if you have other applications running which use VRAM. The plugin System tab gives some memory statistics, and you can also use GPU-Z to track total memory used. You can also try turning on OutOfCore textures.

Paul