Linear, gamma and profiles (oh my!)

Forums: Linear, gamma and profiles (oh my!)
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Moderator: juanjgon

Linear, gamma and profiles (oh my!)

Postby gordonrobb » Wed May 08, 2013 2:49 pm

gordonrobb Wed May 08, 2013 2:49 pm
I am a noob to the whole concept of linear versus non workflow. My experience up till now was to tuxture and light something in linear, and then just switch on sRGB in Lightwaves CS panel. That put everything in sRGB and my renders looked better (better lit and more realistic).

Sooooo.

My question is this. I know to put CS to linear or off in LW. But what about all the gammas and liners etc in all the nodes in octane. If i have imager to liner and use a colour profile, what should all the textures and environments be at. They all have their own gamma. I've been assuming that if I use a non corrected jpg for a surface, I should have it's gamma at 2.2, but is that right. Same question with the hdri textures I use for environments.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a discussion, a tutorial, or just plan give me their wisdom? I'd hate to think I was putting an input in wrong, and having to correct 2 things to make it look right.

Help!
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Single Titan (plus Black Edition on Order) | Octane Lightwave |
gordonrobb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Re: Linear, gamma and profiles (oh my!)

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 08, 2013 4:16 pm

juanjgon Wed May 08, 2013 4:16 pm
To work with Octane you must disable LW color space functions and use the octane gamma and color mapping functions.

Hdri images are always linear, you dont need to correct them. The 8 bits maps can be corrected using the gamma option in the texture node.

The output gamma and tone mapping settings are in the imager node. You can set also the correction settings only for the IPR if you want.

-Juanjo
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer