Windowbox OSL shader?

Forums: Windowbox OSL shader?
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby jayroth » Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:46 pm

jayroth Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:46 pm
I have searched the forums, but I have not been able to locate the windowbox OSL shader for Octane and Cinema. Link, anyone?

Thanks!
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby frankmci » Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:45 pm

frankmci Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:45 pm
You might be thinking of this link. I'm not sure the source data was ever posted directly on the OTOY forum. It's been a few months since I played with it, but I think it was the Lightwave OSL script that worked fine in C4D. Somewhere I've got a city block test file I built with it. It's pretty sweet!

http://julius-ihle.de/?p=2451
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby aoktar » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:01 pm

aoktar Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:01 pm
Check presets from osl texture.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12705
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby jayroth » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:22 pm

jayroth Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:22 pm
I did. I saw nothing there what used the term "Windowbox" and none of the other names indicated that shader. I am happy to hear that it is included. Which one is it?
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby frankmci » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:34 pm

frankmci Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:34 pm
It's not a full shader, it's example OSL code. You'll need to plug that OSL code into an OSL node in an Octane shader network. As I recall, it was the Lightwave version that I could just drop into C4D Octane. Also, the source .exr is defined by a path in the OSL node, not with an Image Texture node, at least in this implementation.

(edit) I went and re-downloaded the files to see what you are seeing. The jiWindowbox.zip file expands to a directory of .osl and .oso files. You want the jiWindowbox_LWOctane.osl file. Open it with your favorite text editor and copy/paste it into the OSL nodes Script Editor window. You'll also want the jiWindowBox_Examples.zip to have some .exr files to plug into the shader and as a template for building your own.

(edit 02) I decided to make a little quickie demo file for C4D users. This file uses one of Julius' (credited in the ReadMe) .exr files and the OSL code as written for Lightwave.
Attachments
WindowBox_C4D.zip
sample windowbox 0SL scene for C4D/Octane Render
(7.94 MiB) Downloaded 191 times
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby jayroth » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:48 am

jayroth Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:48 am
I was just about to start messing with this based upon your previous reply, and then I decided to review your post again, and I see your latest. It's fantastic! Thanks so much for doing this! Now I just need to some sources for input imagery!
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby frankmci » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:36 pm

frankmci Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:36 pm
Sure thing, Jay. Thank you for EI back in the day; it was my workhorse back in the mid to late 90s!
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby jayroth » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:00 pm

jayroth Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:00 pm
Thank you, Frank! I appreciate the sentiment!
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby 3dworks » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:56 pm

3dworks Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:56 pm
i did try to load the example file into R20 + plugin V 4.0.5 R4 (latest) and check it. but when i double click onto the OSL node inside the material, C4D crashes. is this a known bug? any workarounds?
http://instagram.com/3dworksvisualcomputing

Apple Mac Pro 5,1 with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8192 MB, 2 x 2,66 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon/ Mac OS 10.13.6 + networked HP Z600 workstation with 48G RAM, Netstor GPU box, 5 x NVIDIA GTX 980ti / Windows 7 pro.
User avatar
3dworks
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 5:08 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Windowbox OSL shader?

Postby frankmci » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:21 pm

frankmci Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:21 pm
3dworks wrote:i did try to load the example file into R20 + plugin V 4.0.5 R4 (latest) and check it. but when i double click onto the OSL node inside the material, C4D crashes. is this a known bug? any workarounds?


This doesn't directly answer your question, but as a data point, that example scene I posted in January still seems to work fine in Octane 4.03 and R20.059 on hardware similar to yours.
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], jaujaujau and 8 guests

Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:52 am [ UTC ]