OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [superseded by 2020.1.4]

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [superseded by 2020.1.4]
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby Silverwing » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:48 am

Silverwing Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:48 am
Hi there everyone.
I have a renaderslave with an older CPU.
Since Octane 2020.1.2 my GPUs (2X GTX 1080 TIs) are not detected anymore. And Octane (Standalone, Slave as well as the C4D Plugin) would not even start.
I have done some research and in the 2020.1.1 Tread and found this:
It seems that some AVX-512 instructions were introduced in both 2020.1.1 and 2020.1.2 executables which will likely cause the issues that some of you are experiencing with machines with older CPUs which do not have support for this extension set.


Is there any news yet. I know its a very old CPU, but it would be really nice to have my 2 GTX 1080TIs working with the newer versions of Octane.
WIN 10 PRO 64 | ASUS X99-E WS | 3 X GTX 1080Ti | i7 5960X 8X 3,33GHz | 64GB RAM
User avatar
Silverwing
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:36 pm
Location: Ludwigsburg Germany

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby mojave » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:29 pm

mojave Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:29 pm
Silverwing wrote:Hi there everyone.
I have a renaderslave with an older CPU.
Since Octane 2020.1.2 my GPUs (2X GTX 1080 TIs) are not detected anymore. And Octane (Standalone, Slave as well as the C4D Plugin) would not even start.
I have done some research and in the 2020.1.1 Tread and found this:
It seems that some AVX-512 instructions were introduced in both 2020.1.1 and 2020.1.2 executables which will likely cause the issues that some of you are experiencing with machines with older CPUs which do not have support for this extension set.


Is there any news yet. I know its a very old CPU, but it would be really nice to have my 2 GTX 1080TIs working with the newer versions of Octane.


Thank you for your help with this Silverwing. This issue will be fixed in the next build.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby J.C » Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:38 pm

J.C Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:38 pm
Hello, there is an issue with layered material. The displacement is not working with this material.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby galleon27 » Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:54 pm

galleon27 Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:54 pm
J.C wrote:Hello, there is an issue with layered material. The displacement is not working with this material.


I can confirm this. viewtopic.php?f=103&t=75290&p=386187#p386187
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby Bookmansblues » Mon Jul 06, 2020 2:48 pm

Bookmansblues Mon Jul 06, 2020 2:48 pm
I have an issue that seems to have started several releases ago, and that is that SA will simply not run on my machine. I am running the latest nvidia Studio driver (451.48) There are no error msgs, the app simply does not open. I have reinstalled several times and same results for 2020.1.3, 1.2,.1 I did not notice the problem until I tried updating to the latest version of the Unreal Engine plugin, which crashed Unreal Engine as it tried to load, and then tried to load the corresponding SA.

2019 versions seem to work fine.

I am running a duel Xeon (E5645) setup w/1080ti

windows 10 version: 1903

Thanks for any help.
Bookmansblues
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:15 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby mojave » Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:41 am

mojave Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:41 am
Bookmansblues wrote:I have an issue that seems to have started several releases ago, and that is that SA will simply not run on my machine. I am running the latest nvidia Studio driver (451.48) There are no error msgs, the app simply does not open. I have reinstalled several times and same results for 2020.1.3, 1.2,.1 I did not notice the problem until I tried updating to the latest version of the Unreal Engine plugin, which crashed Unreal Engine as it tried to load, and then tried to load the corresponding SA.

2019 versions seem to work fine.

I am running a duel Xeon (E5645) setup w/1080ti

windows 10 version: 1903

Thanks for any help.


Thank you for reporting this. We have got another report like this from another user using dual Xeon CPUs. It seems to be very configuration-specific, could you confirm this happens also using the first 2020.1 release and share the output of CPU-Z on your machine?

We will investigate and add a fix for this as soon as we can replicate it.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby funk » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:12 am

funk Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:12 am
A quick google search shows the Xeon E5645 doesnt support AVX

mojave wrote:Currently under investigation:

  • Some users have reported issues with old CPUs due to AVX instructions, this affects standalone, slave and plugin builds (will be fixed in 2020.1.4).
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby Bookmansblues » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:54 am

Bookmansblues Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:54 am
@mojave

Thanks, I PM'd you the CPU-Z report, and confirmed that 2020.1 runs fine.
Bookmansblues
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:15 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby useruser » Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:59 am

useruser Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:59 am
same here: it runs with 2020.1 (slave) on my intel i7 970. newer OR versions cant find any GPU-card during installation.
hope that you fix this quickly, because i have a lot cuda errors with version 2020.1
everytime this cuda-crash happens, i have to restart the whole computer because i cant restart the slave any longer.
thanks
Workstation: Win 10 PRO 64 bit, 3,4 GHZ ,6-cores, 64 GB RAM , 4x RTX 2080 Ti
1. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit , 3x GTX 980Ti
2. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit 2x GTX 980 Ti
useruser
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1.3 [current 2020.1]

Postby funk » Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:51 pm

funk Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:51 pm
I can't run this build due to the AVX issues, but I found a bug in 2020.1

Glossy material with low roughness + specular layer creates these circular artifacts

glossy_low_roughness_plus_spec_layer_bug.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:44 pm [ UTC ]