OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:14 am

abstrax Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:14 am
treddie wrote:3.08 does not accept my Titan X. It gives me the error message,
"CUDA driver must be at least of version 9.10. CUDA initialization failed. Please make sure you have a recent enough NVIDIA driver."

Octane says my CUDA driver version is 7.50.

My Titan X driver is 10.18.13.5330, if that is the same as the "CUDA" driver.

UPDATE: Just great, now my 3.07 install doesn't recognize my Titan X. I'm dead in the water. Looks like the 3.08 install messed things up.

According to your signature you are working on Windows 7. For that please install a driver of version 387 or higher. For example, I'm running 391.35 without issues on my Win 7 system, but 388.71 works as well.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby treddie » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:15 am

treddie Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:15 am
Is this the game ready driver you are referring to? Otherwise, device manager only refers to a much lower number...like 10.xx. At any rate, I tried updating the game ready driver to 391 and my system went down. Spent an hour getting it rolled back. The NVidia Control Panel is also toast; crashes now when attempting to launch it.
Win7 | Geforce TitanX w/ 12Gb | Geforce GTX-560 w/ 2Gb | 6-Core 3.5GHz | 32Gb | Cinema4D w RipTide Importer and OctaneExporter Plugs.
treddie
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:34 am

abstrax Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:34 am
treddie wrote:Is this the game ready driver you are referring to? Otherwise, device manager only refers to a much lower number...like 10.xx. At any rate, I tried updating the game ready driver to 391 and my system went down. Spent an hour getting it rolled back.


Sorry that you have so much trouble. I was talking about this driver (391.35 on Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1): http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 2838/en-us
Alternatively you could try this one (388.71 on Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1): http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 8419/en-us

If you have problems installing the driver: Maybe try a clean install (via Custom Install -> tick "Clean install"), which will remove any previous NVIDIA driver before it installs the new one. If none of that works, please contact the support and they will have a more in-depth look of what's going on on your system.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby treddie » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:58 am

treddie Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:58 am
After about an hour, I got my system back with the 388 driver and clean install. So thought I would give 391 a try again, using clean install. My system went completely down. Took about 5 hours to get it back up with the 388 driver so that my system could even SEE the Titan X. However, the original problem still persists...Octane Standalone 3.07 and 3.08 do not see any GPUs. 3.07 used to work fine. Now, only Octane 3.04 sees my GPUs.
Win7 | Geforce TitanX w/ 12Gb | Geforce GTX-560 w/ 2Gb | 6-Core 3.5GHz | 32Gb | Cinema4D w RipTide Importer and OctaneExporter Plugs.
treddie
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:02 am

bepeg4d Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:02 am
Hi treddi,
please, have a look at this other discussion:
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=66073
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6685
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby treddie » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:17 am

treddie Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:17 am
Hi Beppe.

I used that thread to solve the digital signature issue about a month ago and finally got that to work. Now the problem is completely different...Octane 3.07 (which used to work just fine), can no longer detect my GPUs. 3.08 never did. The 3.08 install is what caused all of this. So I uninstalled both 3.07 and 3.08, and then reinstalled 3.07, but no go.

I have to get to bed. Been struggling with this headache for 6 hours now.
Win7 | Geforce TitanX w/ 12Gb | Geforce GTX-560 w/ 2Gb | 6-Core 3.5GHz | 32Gb | Cinema4D w RipTide Importer and OctaneExporter Plugs.
treddie
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby itou31 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:02 pm

itou31 Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:02 pm
Hi,
Hope I can help a bit.
My system is different and by updating from cuda drivers 9.0 (nvidia drivers < 387.92) to cuda 9.10, my system cannot install some of my GPU.
My issue is due to vbios modified on some GPUs. Revert back to original Vbios make all GPU work with cuda 9.1 drivers.
In my investigation, with many drivers tests, I found that some clean install don't have cuda installed !
Test with clean install of 391.35 --> no GPU on octane render (but ok for game and all ok in device manager.
I noticed that also for 391.24.
So I test the 387.92 (the first one with cuda 9.10), and that works. And I think from there, you can update to new drivers (without a clean install).
To do a clean install, you should use DDU.
For me, as Octane 3.08 works with 387.92, I'm still with it, until the next mandatory drivers.
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby nuno1980 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:39 pm

nuno1980 Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:39 pm
itou31 wrote:To do a clean install, you should use DDU.
+10!!! :D
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

i7-4790K w/ or w/o OC
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ Gaming :D
SSD OCZ RD400 512GB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BDXL BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 19" SM 957MB
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby treddie » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:38 am

treddie Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:38 am
Hi,
Hope I can help a bit.
My system is different and by updating from cuda drivers 9.0 (nvidia drivers < 387.92) to cuda 9.10, my system cannot install some of my GPU.
My issue is due to vbios modified on some GPUs. Revert back to original Vbios make all GPU work with cuda 9.1 drivers.
In my investigation, with many drivers tests, I found that some clean install don't have cuda installed !
Test with clean install of 391.35 --> no GPU on octane render (but ok for game and all ok in device manager.
I noticed that also for 391.24.
So I test the 387.92 (the first one with cuda 9.10), and that works. And I think from there, you can update to new drivers (without a clean install).
To do a clean install, you should use DDU.
For me, as Octane 3.08 works with 387.92, I'm still with it, until the next mandatory drivers.


Thanks, itou31. I made sure that I was back to my default settings in the BIOS, like you suggested and that may have helped, but the graphic below shows what I have to go through whenever a display driver crashes. This has happened in the past and I could never figure out what I did to get it going again, but this time I figured it out. If I do not follow this procedure, anything can happen, like my Titan X showing up as my GTX 560 in Device Manager, or simply not even being recognized at all by Windows as even existing! All told, down 10 hours overall. But FINALLY, Octane 3.07-.08 see my GPUs now.

Everyone strongly suggests DDU, so I will have to try that next time, too!

NVIDIA Game Ready Driver Installation Graphic.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win7 | Geforce TitanX w/ 12Gb | Geforce GTX-560 w/ 2Gb | 6-Core 3.5GHz | 32Gb | Cinema4D w RipTide Importer and OctaneExporter Plugs.
treddie
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08 [current 3.xx]

Postby vipvip » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:41 am

vipvip Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:41 am
as said on the lightwave thread, the offline licencing is no more active for this new production build : any chance to see it again ?
because it is a pain to have to connect (& wait) each time i want to use Octane/LW : for all like me who want to keep their workstation out of the net as most as possible, it is not a good thing...
i understand a regular online check is possible (like adobe do with their sofware suit, one time each month), but each new session :? ...
thanks
vipvip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:28 am
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:20 pm [ UTC ]