Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Forums: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:35 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:35 pm
Have been doing some rendering of DAZ models in standalone Octane.
I do have the plugin but I find it more flexible to rather export from DAZ at 1% scale.

Some years ago I did a lot off model photography as a hobby.
Now days I don't have room for a studio at home so I built one in Octane instead.
So I built some studio equipement and also made a script to rig the lights in a more easy way.

Thought I should share it in case someone else has use for it.
Just don't take the script as an example of how to code.
It's quite ugly but at leas it seems to work. :)

Attached are the Light Rig, Studio and a Lua Script.
Attachments
Easy Light Rig_1_1.lua
(44.97 KiB) Downloaded 322 times
Studio.orbx
(3.6 MiB) Downloaded 340 times
__scw__LightRig1.orbx
(3.63 MiB) Downloaded 304 times
Last edited by Wallan on Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:23 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:23 pm
And a short tutorial on how to use it.

Below you can see my setup from the overview render target.
Just import the light rig and studio if you want it as well.
And why not a cute girl or well.

I usually add one "Overview" rendertarget that has normal texture based light at full power so I can get a god overview.
Then I add a render target for the actual render that has the texture power settings all way down to 0.

If you look closely you will also see the default "softbox" in the center of the scene on top of the box.
That's where lights will appear by default.

You can also see that the script is running, showing the default settings for the light in the scene.

A quick run trough.

The LightOn check boxes turns light on or off.

The Edit drop down is for selecting witch light to edit.

Aim check box turn on the aim cross hair that helps in setting the aim of the light as well as knowing where the light are when out of view from camera..

X,Y,Z Sets the point at witch the light are aimed and the point around witch the lights rotates.

Dist sets how far from the aim point the light are.

Orbit moves light horizontal or vertical around the aim point.

Size is the size of the light.

Deform stretches light vertical or horizontal. A light that not is symmetrical creates shadows harder in one direction than the other.
A sometimes wanted effect.

Power is the power of the light.

Light Type is the type of light.

Grid Type is the type of grid placed in front of light. A grid is used to control how much the light is spread and thus making it more directional thus making shadows harder.

Grid Depth, the larger it goes the more directional the light gets.

Tube Type. Effect is about the same as for a grid if light is small. In a real studio its used to place a controlled area of light on a model.

Tube Length, The longer the more focused.

Omni reflector. Just an ordinary reflector for the omni light.

Barndoors. Can be turned on to control where light goes or to hide the light source from the camera.

Door width and lenght controlls size of the doors.

Rest is to close and open the doors.

And last, a Reset button.
Attachments
LightRig1.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:27 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:27 pm
Here I have changed the Light Type to a ringlight.
Adjusted x,y,z to set aim at the abdomen.
Added some distance and and used orbit to move it a bit to the right and higher.
Attachments
LightRig2.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:32 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:32 pm
Switching to the full figure render target.
Had to turn of script to do that, maybe I should add that possibility to the script?
Starting the script again you can see that I moved the aim from abdomen to the face.
Did that because I got to much of the light on the floor.
Attachments
LightRig3.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:38 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:38 pm
Turned of Aim for Light 1
Added to more lights with Aim on.
One small circular soft box with a long tube for some hair reflections.
And one omni light with reflector for some rim light.
Attachments
LightRig4.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:44 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:44 pm
In this image I have added yet another light.
A rectangular soft box with grid that adds some light and rim light to the lower legs.

In this image one can see fireflies appearing.
Small light sources together with gloss materials seems to have that result.
Attachments
LightRig5.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:48 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:48 pm
To get rid of the fireflies i switched to the Path Tracing and pulled GI clamp down until they where gone.
Attachments
LightRig6.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:59 pm

Wallan Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:59 pm
Last an image from the my "Overview" render target where all lights can bee seen.

There is no save in the script but if you make a rig you want to reuse it's just a matter of saving the Light Rig Graph.

Also...
Forgot to remove the Note inside the LightRigs from a previous version that not was controlled by script.
Just ignore it!!!!!!
Attachments
LightRig7.jpg
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:09 am

bepeg4d Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:09 am
Great idea Wallan, and a big thanks for sharing :D
I want to try your script as soon as I can, well done ;)
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 9959
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Studio, Light Rig and Control Script

Postby Wallan » Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:43 pm

Wallan Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:43 pm
Uploaded a updated version of the Easy Light Rig script to the original post that makes it possible to change Render Target from the tool.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit 32Gb RAM. Intel Core i7-5820K [email protected] GHZ. Display uses a Gigabyte GTX 460 1Gb VRAM. Octane uses an EVGA GTX 970 4Gb VRAM.
Wallan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:13 pm
Next

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests

Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:01 am [ UTC ]