OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby calus » Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:20 am

calus Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:20 am
BK wrote:We are constantly in touch with ADN team since this is a major refactoring, however, it is progressing according to as we planned.

ADN = Autodesk Developer Network
( as "ADN" might be confusing for people reading this )

BK wrote:There would be lots of improvement and the plugin will run much efficiently. It will also support the older versions too.

Can you give us more details about which parts of the plugin are refactored ?
I mean, you only talked about Motion Blur (oversampling) but the purpose of the refactoring seems to be a lot wider than that:
Is this refactoring about making the plugin code easier to maintain and update ?
is it to be more in line with Octane Standalone and coming Octane SDKs ?
is it about a better integration in Maya and better usage of the Maya API ?
....
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby Rikk The Gaijin » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:41 am

Rikk The Gaijin Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:41 am
I just want the current interface to GO AWAY, because it's HIDEOUS.
I want the Standalone node interface integrated in Maya.
Rikk The Gaijin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Japan

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby itsallgoode9 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:41 pm

itsallgoode9 Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:41 pm
BK wrote:
itsallgoode9 wrote:Considering, in the following "months" there will be no Maya 2018 support, no bug fixes and no feature additions, would you mind letting us know some some sort update on progress of the refactoring of the plugin? Now that it's been over a month since your last update, any update yet on what "months" means (will we get any update or support in 2017 etc)?



Hi, itsallgoode9,

My apology for the delays in updating everyone on the forum.

We are constantly in touch with ADN team since this is a major refactoring, however, it is progressing according to as we planned.
There would be lots of improvement and the plugin will run much efficiently. It will also support the older versions too.

At this stage, we do not have a proper build yet, as the work is mostly based of RnDs shuffling back and forth.

We will definitely get updates on latest SDKs for 2016, 2016.5, 2017 and 2018 as soon as we finish the refactor.

There would be an announcement on the forum regarding the timeline hopefully in a month or two. Thanks again for your patience.


From your fairly vague non-answer, it appears you're going on the record, telling customers there will be no Maya support, updates or bug fixes to the current plugin in 2017. Is that correct?

That would leave us at 6 months minimum with no support for our product (last update was in July)
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby p3taoctane » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:00 pm

p3taoctane Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:00 pm
I do not quite understand why Maya (perhaps one of the most used 3d programs out there.. at least high in the rankings I assume) gets such slow progress.
I love Octane and find it hard to beat... but the fact all the other plugins seem to have better support does confuse the heck out of me.

I have faith that you are making an incredibly robust and sound version that will work seamlessly with Octane stand-alone... but just surprised that with the number of in-house people who are working on it that it is taking this long.

Good luck and do hope its sometime this year
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby Rikk The Gaijin » Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:09 am

Rikk The Gaijin Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:09 am
p3taoctane wrote:I do not quite understand why Maya (perhaps one of the most used 3d programs out there.. at least high in the rankings I assume) gets such slow progress.

Because the other plugins are developed by Paul.
The Maya one is developed by jimstar...
Rikk The Gaijin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Japan

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby itsallgoode9 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:00 pm

itsallgoode9 Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:00 pm
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:
p3taoctane wrote:I do not quite understand why Maya (perhaps one of the most used 3d programs out there.. at least high in the rankings I assume) gets such slow progress.

Because the other plugins are developed by Paul.
The Maya one is developed by jimstar...



Which is funny because on more than one occasion they have told us that they have hired additional maya developers. looks like that was a lie, like so many other things they have told us.
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby Rikk The Gaijin » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:43 am

Rikk The Gaijin Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:43 am
itsallgoode9 wrote:Which is funny because on more than one occasion they have told us that they have hired additional maya developers. looks like that was a lie, like so many other things they have told us.

It wasn't a lie, they did hire a Maya expert, but apparently he already quit... :roll:
Rikk The Gaijin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Japan

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby itsallgoode9 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:01 am

itsallgoode9 Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:01 am
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:
itsallgoode9 wrote:Which is funny because on more than one occasion they have told us that they have hired additional maya developers. looks like that was a lie, like so many other things they have told us.

It wasn't a lie, they did hire a Maya expert, but apparently he already quit... :roll:


:shock: Well, I guess i retract my comment :oops: I sure hope they plan on hiring another one. Considering the, already tumultuous relationship between Maya users and OTOY, I really hope they're working on getting a replacement to help development.
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Jan 17, 2021 7:04 am [ UTC ]