Username: Password:

OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby RayTracey » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:48 pm

Hi everyone,

We are very pleased to announce the availability of the OctaneRender® for Poser plugin : Version 1.0 beta, the world's
fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Smith Micro Software's Poser.

OctaneRender is currently recognized by many industry professionals and 3d graphic visualization artists as the most advanced
and fastest GPU based physically based render engine with an advanced and flexible node-based workflow and user-interface.
However, due to current exporter scripts communicating with the OctaneRender application via file export, many artists lacked
closely integrated options and fast IO, limiting functionality and workflow features required for fast and efficient geometry transfer
and animation rendering,

Now, with our new plugin products, you can have the most advanced, fastest physically based render engine on the market tightly
integrated into your 3d modeling and animation software, for a fast workflow and rendering pipeline suitable for interactive editing
and fast final animation rendering output by using Poser's environment for scene setup, fine-tuning and animating all parameters for
objects, materials, lights, media, etc... all from inside Poser.

head workspace.png
product page.png
v4test3.png
poser_zay.png









POSER VERSION REQUIREMENTS

This release requires Poser 9 or Poser Pro 2012, 32 and 64bit, on Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8. You must have Poser Service
Release 3.1 installed
. Poser 8/2010 and earlier are not supported.


FEATURES/FUNCTIONALITY

Please refer to the blog post at http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/2012/11/octanerender-for-poser-features.html to
see the plugin features and screenshots.

Version 1.1 of the plugin will be released shortly (as a beta), and will contain Octane's instancing functionality. Version 1.0 beta
license owners will get the upgrade to 1.1 beta of the plugin at no cost.


COMPATIBILITY AND OCTANERENDER STANDALONE REQUIREMENT

To run OctaneRender® for Poser, you need to have an activated OctaneRender® Standalone copy on the machine you wish to
install the plugin onto. You cannot purchase only the Poser plugin and use it without also owning an activated copy of OctaneRender®
Standalone on your machine.


DEMO VERSION AVAILABLE

Download the demo here: http://render.otoy.com/downloads.php

More info about the demo can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=25983


HOW TO PURCHASE LICENSES

Go to our online shop here: http://render.otoy.com/shop/

A license for the plugin product alone will cost 99 € while in the initial open beta phase, and 199 € when the final versions of the plugin
and both OctaneRender™ are released.

The plugin will require the user to have a valid OctaneRender™ Standalone version installed and activated. If you don't have an OctaneRender
license yet, you can buy purchase both the plugin and the engine/standalone licenses as one bundle during the beta phase for 179 euros.
Update: with the beta phase of the standalone version having ended, the price of the bundle has increased to 279 euros.

You can also purchase a 3, 5 or 10 pack of OctaneRender® for Poser licenses, just like OctaneRender Standalone Edition packs.


INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS

Please follow the installation instructions in the manual (included in the ZIP file). Remember to copy the octane.dat file into the
folder that contains PoserPro.exe/Poser.exe (as per installation instructions).

If you get a message when running the plugin from the Render menu "Could not load Octane libraries", this is either due to not
installing the plugin correctly (refer to the manual), or your Nvidia drivers are out of date.


OCTANELIVE®

Just like OctaneRender Standalone, The Poser plugin product also needs an OctaneLive license and be activated on a machine.
This has to be done in the plugin interface, and is covered in the manual. It can only be done after an OctaneRender Standalone
license is already activated on the machine in question.


NVIDIA DRIVER REQUIREMENTS

This version requires video driver 301.42 or higher.


LIMITATIONS

Loading a Poser scene by double-clicking a pz3 file in the Windows file explorer will not load the previously saved Octane scene
data in that file. This is due to a Poser bug which has been reported to Smith Micro. Instead, use the Poser menu File -> Open
to open any pz3 files which contain Octane scene data.


ISSUE RESOLUTION
If you have any issues, please report them here, and include the following information:

- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- 32 or 64 bit
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- Poser version (Poser -> Help -> About Poser) - list the build
number (eg. 9.0.3.23027)


Yours,
The OctaneRender Team.
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: NEW: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby t_3 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:27 pm

CONGRATS :D
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: NEW: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby face_off » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:17 am

Hi

I have started a thread for licensed users to provide suggestions, ask questions, get support, and keep up to date on new releases at http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=25195

Thanks

Paul
Win 7 64bit, GTX550 Ti, Intel i7, 8Gig RAM, 314.07
Developer: OctaneRender for Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo
Blog: http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby echecu » Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:31 am

Do you plan on a Mac version? If so could I buy at the beta price to take advantage of early pricing and simply wait for the Mac version?
echecu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:22 pm

Re: NEW: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby face_off » Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:10 am

Do you plan on a Mac version?

A Mac version is definitely planned. Whilst I have run the GUI component of the plugin on the Mac version of Poser, it will be some time before I can test the links to the Octane component, so the Mac version would be some months away.

If so could I buy at the beta price to take advantage of early pricing and simply wait for the Mac version?

You could, but given the timeline I'd be inclined to recommend waiting rather than purchasing something you can't use right now.
Win 7 64bit, GTX550 Ti, Intel i7, 8Gig RAM, 314.07
Developer: OctaneRender for Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo
Blog: http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby stese » Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:20 pm

Greate scene in Poser takes a lot of place in memory on the graphic card.
I use GTX 580,3GB graphic card.
Sometimes it is necessary to power off the Poser to run Octane.

How is it solved in this plugin?
stese
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:17 am

Re: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:38 am

Greate scene in Poser takes a lot of place in memory on the graphic card.
I use GTX 580,3GB graphic card.
Sometimes it is necessary to power off the Poser to run Octane.
How is it solved in this plugin?

I haven't had the situation where I've need to shutdown Poser in order to render a scene. I guess there could be scenes where the small amount of video card memory the Poser uses is the difference between the scene fitting into the card or not. Switching Poser to SreeD should free up the video card memory.

I have a 1Gb card and haven't have memory issues, so 3Gb would render very large scenes.

There are options in the plugin to remove all bump maps from the scene or a certain figure/prop to reduce texturemaps. There is also a Poser scene analysis script which iterates through all the scene texturemaps so you know how much memory they are using.

I am also 1/2 way through putting together a texture compressor, so you can select one or more texturemaps (ordered by size) to reduce their resolution.

Hope that helps.

Paul
Win 7 64bit, GTX550 Ti, Intel i7, 8Gig RAM, 314.07
Developer: OctaneRender for Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo
Blog: http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:15 am

A quick note to say development version 1.01d is now available. It includes

- Texture compression script
- Improvements to Instancing
- Genesis compatibility
- Compiled against Octane 1.0
- A range of stability improvements, memory reporting, etc
- You can now save Octane materials back into the Poser Material (as save as a MAT pose)
- Paste a material to all skin materials (retaining their texturemaps)

Pls see the Poser forum at Otoy for details.

Paul
Win 7 64bit, GTX550 Ti, Intel i7, 8Gig RAM, 314.07
Developer: OctaneRender for Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo
Blog: http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:25 am

Video showing the new daylight controller is here....http://youtu.be/KiIGvoyt0zk.
Win 7 64bit, GTX550 Ti, Intel i7, 8Gig RAM, 314.07
Developer: OctaneRender for Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo
Blog: http://poserphysics.blogspot.com.au/
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for Poser v1.0 beta available

Postby JurgenDoe » Wed May 01, 2013 1:06 am

I would like to know why only nVidia video cards are supported and not other ones like I have ( Intel HD Graphics 3000 )
I run windows 8 64 bit
Poser Pro 2012 with SR3
16 GB RAM

I really would like to see if this graphic cards could be supported too :?
JurgenDoe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:57 am

Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Otoy Inc sends out news email to registered forum members when we release new versions of our products.

If you would like to be kept up to date about our products, just register on our forum, it's free.

Register on our forum to subscribe to our newsletter ×