NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Forums: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]
A forum which hosts Octane Render Artwork Competitions
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby james_conkle » Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:24 pm

james_conkle Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:24 pm
aoktar wrote:Scaling the canvas of live viewer is on my TODO list. It's complicated for me than you estimate because of current features of Live Viewer. So not will come immediately or soon



I can't imaging how working on any of this is not complicated :oops: Just glad to know it's on your radar :) <3 Thank you
Octane C4D Plugin 2020.1.4 / C4D S22
2x2080ti NVLink / 3970x / 64GB
User avatar
james_conkle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:28 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby 19Nik90 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:27 pm

19Nik90 Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:27 pm
On my MacBook Pro 2018 with Radeon Pro 555X it says "No GPU Selected", when I select it, it deselect automatically. Is it compatible?

Thank you
19Nik90
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby aoktar » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:54 pm

aoktar Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:54 pm
Trying to implement CANVAS SCALING without changing the resolution. Is this what you want?
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] a2.mp4 [ 10.9 MiB | Viewed 19881 times ]

Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13631
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby CarlsBad » Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:53 pm

CarlsBad Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:53 pm
19Nik90 wrote:On my MacBook Pro 2018 with Radeon Pro 555X it says "No GPU Selected", when I select it, it deselect automatically. Is it compatible?

Thank you


I don't believe any of the Radeon 5xx series cards (discrete or desktop) are supported. All of those predate the Vega and Navi series cards.
CarlsBad
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:21 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby james_conkle » Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:13 am

james_conkle Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:13 am
aoktar wrote:Trying to implement CANVAS SCALING without changing the resolution. Is this what you want?


Hi Aoktar (take the weekend off!), yes that looks like that's what we're asking for. Hard to tell since I don't see you adjusting the scaling via a drop down or entering a number. I've attached an image where when I lock the resolution at "1" for a 1920x1080 project in a window on my 4k monitor it's small. To get Octane to fill the space I set the lock at "1.4" but I'm loosing some speed since I'm rendering more pixels than I will on the final image.


I've also attached an image on how redshift (I know it's a bad word) has implemented this feature. Sorry if I'm not explaining this well, but thank you.
Attachments
OctaneLVScalingRequest.png
Octane C4D Plugin 2020.1.4 / C4D S22
2x2080ti NVLink / 3970x / 64GB
User avatar
james_conkle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:28 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Pixege » Mon Aug 03, 2020 9:08 am

Pixege Mon Aug 03, 2020 9:08 am
aoktar wrote:Trying to implement CANVAS SCALING without changing the resolution. Is this what you want?


Wow this looks very promising!
MacBook Pro 16" | AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB | 2,3 GHz Intel Core i9 | 64 GB RAM + eGPU Razer Core X | Asus ROG Strix RX 5700 XT OC
User avatar
Pixege
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:30 pm
Location: Poland

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby DERJUNG » Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:06 am

DERJUNG Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:06 am
aoktar wrote:Trying to implement CANVAS SCALING without changing the resolution. Is this what you want?

yes, it looks much better than this tiny square zooming :-)
MacPro 12 [email protected] Ghz - 48GB 2933Mhz DDR4 - AMD Radeon Pro Vega II Duo 32GB
User avatar
DERJUNG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:44 am
Location: Germany, Langenfeld

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby keithrondinelli1974 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:22 pm

keithrondinelli1974 Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:22 pm
Yes, Arnold has a similar IPR scaling feature that I found incredibly useful. Two difference controls, "Scale," which literally scales the set pixel dimensions of the render settings, so, if you have your render set at 1920x1080, and set the IPR "Scale" to 50%, it's actually rendering 960x540. Then, "Zoom" which ignores any settings and just allows you to zoom in and out on the image, irrespective of render settings. So, you could then set "Scale" to 50% and "Zoom" to "200%" and have a 1920x1080 preview at half resolution, which would speed up preview rendering considerably and still allow you to get a bit closer to the image. I'd often set my "Scale" to somewhere around 80% and Zoom to 120% and it would give me a nice bump up in speed without really sacrificing much detail.
keithrondinelli1974
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 6:16 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby JoGo23 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:26 pm

JoGo23 Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:26 pm
Hi Goldorak. Any updates on Modo plugin errors?
JoGo23
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:48 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby enb300 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 8:41 pm

enb300 Mon Aug 03, 2020 8:41 pm
Hi! New to octane here,

I'm trying to use a vertex map as a mask in a composite material but I can't for the life of me get it to work! I'm attaching a screenshot with my material/viewport. This is driving me crazy as I can't figure out what's going wrong!

(also, I'm using Cinema 4D S22 on a MacBook Pro just fyi)

Image
enb300
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:04 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Competitions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:22 pm [ UTC ]