OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [OBSOLETE]

Postby BK » Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:35 am

BK Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:35 am
This is a TEST version, so be prepared to have some issues. Please do not use it for production.

Plugin's version string consists of two parts - version of Octane core integrated into this release of plugin, and the version of the plugin itself.
Format: <Octane engine version> - <plugin version>
It is enough to mention the <plugin version> part when you report something.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2015, 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on MS Windows operating systems, 2015, 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on Linux operating systems, and 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on OSX operating systems (including and above 10.9).

For network slave and daemon please download Octane Standalone installer here:
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=60354


CHANGES SINCE THE PREVIOUS VERSION


  • Lost material bug fixes using alembic and MB on...
  • And minor improvements


Windows

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya 10.18

Installation:
- Just run the installer to see its command line keys.

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya - 10.18 Linux


OSX

Installation:
- Just run the auto installer file.

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya - 10.18 OSX
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby calus » Tue Apr 04, 2017 6:19 am

calus Tue Apr 04, 2017 6:19 am
BK wrote:
  • Lost material bug fixes using alembic and MB on...

Thanks so much guys :)
(also fixed : Lost material for materials from old scene, and for materials with complex attachement )
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby QuinceHungaryKft » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:18 am

QuinceHungaryKft Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:18 am
Hey Guys,

I know this is still a test version, but we are very excited about the adaptive sampling feature, from which we would benefit a lot. So far we have not dared to test the new plugin. What are the current major issues that still remain with this test version?
Thanks a lot!
QuinceHungaryKft
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby calus » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:56 am

calus Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:56 am
QuinceHungaryKft wrote:So far we have not dared to test the new plugin. What are the current major issues that still remain with this test version?

I use 10.18 on my current work and until now it is as stable as last plugin Stable version (9.41).
So there is less issues in 10.18 than in previous stable version as some previous bugs have been fixed.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby renmaxhb » Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:05 am

renmaxhb Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:05 am
calus wrote:
QuinceHungaryKft wrote:So far we have not dared to test the new plugin. What are the current major issues that still remain with this test version?

I use 10.18 on my current work and until now it is as stable as last plugin Stable version (9.41).
So there is less issues in 10.18 than in previous stable version as some previous bugs have been fixed.



yeah
renmaxhb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby abeoctane » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:11 pm

abeoctane Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:11 pm
Hi, I am having a problem with this version, the image files (tiff) dont load, even if I restart maya they dont load, I have to check and uncheck the camera mapped texture box for them to load, If I dont do this the objects renders gray, the scenes were saved with octane 9.41. maya 2016 sp6, .ma format.
abeoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby abeoctane » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:20 pm

abeoctane Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:20 pm
Also getting this error again:


Octane engine log:
device 2: data texture 4 was not initialized
device 3: data texture 4 was not initialized
device 0: data texture 4 was not initialized
device 1: data texture 4 was not initialized


And the render hangs.
abeoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby abeoctane » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:58 pm

abeoctane Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:58 pm
I tried and since 3.06t3_-_10.8 till Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18, I am getting the image files error and the objects renders gray, Maya_3.06t3_-_10.7 renders fine.
abeoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:44 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby renmaxhb » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:12 am

renmaxhb Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:12 am
REALY TROUBLE: rotation object will change smaller when MB is on :evil:
renmaxhb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:53 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06 (test 4) - 10.18 [TEST]

Postby calus » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:31 am

calus Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:31 am
renmaxhb wrote:REALY TROUBLE: rotation object will change smaller when MB is on :evil:

I guess you are using the symmetric MB direction,
this problem has always been there, this is not really a bug, this is because we are missing MB time sub-sampling in the plugin:

Currently in the plugin, for Motion-blur geometry is only sampled 2 times (= only 1 MB step per frame):
for symmetric, geometry is sampled once before and once after the current time,
so with only 2 samples the geometry at current time is interpolated between the pre-sample and the post-sample.
This is why it shrinks with rotation, symmetric must only be used with at least 3 samples ( = 2 MB steps ),
with only 2 samples we have this:
maya_2017-04-07_10-27-14.png
from geometry pre-sample to geometry post-sample, vertex interpolation at current time give a shrinked object (red).



So "symmetric" shutter alignment must never be used in Maya,
more than 2 geometry samples per frame is not supported yet in the plugin,
but JimStar is working on it :)

This problem also happen with after and before MB direction for objects with fast non-linear movement, but is more obvious with symmetric.


WORKAROUND
The workaround for this problem is to set your scene at a higher frame-rate for example change from 25 FPS to 250 FPS,
then export animated scene ORBX, in Standalone set the framerate to 25 FPS and that's it:
you can now render the ORBX in Standalone with perfect 10 steps motion-blur.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon May 10, 2021 12:09 am [ UTC ]