Noise Generator

Forums: Noise Generator
Forum for OctaneRender Lua scripting examples, discussion and support.

Noise Generator

Postby stratified » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:34 am

stratified Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:34 am
Hi,

I spent some of my (free) time creating a noise generator for Octane. The idea is to create an application where it's really easy to add new noise patterns based on the existing functionality. You don't have to worry about creating the user interface, that's all done automatically.

Right now I've only implemented Perlin noise, Wood rings (based on Perlin noise) and cellular noise. Perlin noise and cellular noise are excellent base functions for noise and more noise can be added quickly.

If you'd like to extend the script yourself have a look at noise-generator/materials.lua.

Here's a screenshot of the script:
s.png
noise generator


perlin.png
Perlin noise


worley.png
Worley noise (a.k.a. Cellular Noise)


And here's the code, it should work with OctaneRender 1.55 and 2.04:
Octane_noise_generator_0_11.zip
(8.67 KiB) Downloaded 728 times


To install, unzip the archive into your OctaneRender Lua scripting directory (The directory configured via File > Preferences > Application Tab > Script Directory). You should have a file noise-generator.lua and a directory noise-generator in this directory.

cheers,
Thomas
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Noise Generator

Postby Tugpsx » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:40 am

Tugpsx Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:40 am
Sweet, thanks
Dell Win Vista 32 | NVIDIA Quadro NVS135M | Core2 Duo T7500 2.20GHz | 4GB
CyberPowerPC Win 7 64| NVIDIA GTX660Ti (3G) GTX480(1.5G) | 16GB
Tugpsx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:04 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Noise Generator

Postby domusbiro » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:35 pm

domusbiro Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:35 pm
Hi,

I have 0 knowledge about scripting :oops: I've tried adding NoiseGenerator.lua in the Octane standalone script editor but it doesn't open the script window. Could you please provide install instructions?

Thx

N
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Noise Generator

Postby mate » Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:07 pm

mate Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:07 pm
Sweet! is it possible to access LUA scripts from within the Plugins (C4D)?
SEHSUCHT Berlin - 22x GTX 780
mate
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Noise Generator

Postby tchoa » Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:08 pm

tchoa Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:08 pm
Nice script :)
But doesn't work in OctaneRender 2.03
line 272 > info.preview:setPixel(x, y, t2d:get(x, y))
...\noise-generator/materials.lua:272: attempt to call method 'setPixel' (a nil value)

Stratified could you help to fix that?
Thanks!
Win XP x64 | Q6600 2.40GHz | 8Go | GTX470 1.28Go // Win 7 x64 | I7 Q740 1.73Ghz | 6Go | GTX460m 1.5Go
tchoa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Noise Generator

Postby stratified » Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:40 am

stratified Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:40 am
mate wrote:Sweet! is it possible to access LUA scripts from within the Plugins (C4D)?


No, plugins can't use the Lua scripts.

domusbiro wrote:Hi,

I have 0 knowledge about scripting :oops: I've tried adding NoiseGenerator.lua in the Octane standalone script editor but it doesn't open the script window. Could you please provide install instructions?

Thx

N


I'll have a look at it soon.

cheers,
Thomas
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Noise Generator

Postby stratified » Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:45 pm

stratified Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:45 pm
I've updated the code attached to the first post. The new version is 0.11 and it should work with OctaneRender 1.55 and 2.04.

cheers,
Thomas
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Noise Generator

Postby tchoa » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:06 pm

tchoa Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:06 pm
Thanks Thomas!
Win XP x64 | Q6600 2.40GHz | 8Go | GTX470 1.28Go // Win 7 x64 | I7 Q740 1.73Ghz | 6Go | GTX460m 1.5Go
tchoa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Noise Generator

Postby riggles » Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:19 pm

riggles Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:19 pm
stratified wrote:No, plugins can't use the Lua scripts.

Why is that?
riggles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:34 pm
Location: CT, USA

Return to Lua Scripting


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:30 pm [ UTC ]