Model polygons visible in the render?

Forums: Model polygons visible in the render?
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

Model polygons visible in the render?

Postby FIGAROCMS2018 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:05 pm

FIGAROCMS2018 Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:05 pm
Hello,

I downloaded a free model off of cgtrader, and here's what it looks like in C4D:

https://i.imgur.com/Z8ubquS.jpg

The problem is, - as you can see - that the polygons are showing in the render. How do I get rid of that? Do I have to blend polygons with eachother manually? Or is there a special setting to get rid of this effect?
FYI : the end goal isn't to retexture the object, I just want to have it one solid color. But without seeing the polygons!
Thank you.
FIGAROCMS2018
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:24 pm

Re: Model polygons visible in the render?

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:54 am

bepeg4d Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:54 am
Hi,
check the c4d Phong tag, and convert the materials to Octane materials.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Model polygons visible in the render?

Postby FIGAROCMS2018 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:55 am

FIGAROCMS2018 Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:55 am
Hello bepe, thank you for your answer. However, even with a phong tag (I tried many combinations), and with an octane material, I can still see the polys.
Here is a picture :
https://i.imgur.com/h7KxJQI.jpg

Here is a link to the .obj file I'm having trouble with.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gTOUp ... iw8CQYeCJ9

Do you have another idea of what I could troubleshoot? Thanks
FIGAROCMS2018
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:24 pm

Re: Model polygons visible in the render?

Postby frankmci » Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:10 pm

frankmci Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:10 pm
FIGAROCMS2018 wrote:Hello bepe, thank you for your answer. However, even with a phong tag (I tried many combinations), and with an octane material, I can still see the polys.
Here is a picture :
https://i.imgur.com/h7KxJQI.jpg

Here is a link to the .obj file I'm having trouble with.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gTOUp ... iw8CQYeCJ9

Do you have another idea of what I could troubleshoot? Thanks


A little poking around seems to say there's a problem with the vertex vs. face normals of the model, where the two don't agree. Unfortunately C4D's normals tools aren't the most powerful, so the only way I could fix the problem within C4D was to Triangulate the model, forcing a full normals re-build. I generally avoid modeling in C4D, though, so there may be better way.

If you've got another tool, like Maya or Blender, they should be able to fix it without adding geometry. In Maya, try selecting all faces, unlocking normals and using Set To Face. In Blender, the "recalculate normals" tool should do the same thing.

- Frank
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:44 am [ UTC ]