Spotlight Octane

Forums: Spotlight Octane
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

Spotlight Octane

Postby Ridder » Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:59 pm

Ridder Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:59 pm
Hi,

I'm a light designer and to create my designs I use Vectorworks. The render engine of Vectorworks is nice but it's CPU based and not amazingly fast.
Since the 2017 version of Vectorworks it's possible to export Vectorworks files to C4D which makes the render possiblities a lot more interesting :)
I've been looking into Octane and I'm amazed by the speed of rendering since it's GPU based and you can easily scale up in the amount of GPU's.
The problem I bump into at the moment is that all the light fixtures in Vectorworks will be exported into a spotlight within C4D a type of light Octane can't render, if I understand correctly.
I've a scene for example at the moment that has a small amount of lights, for a light setup, which is around 25, but they are all spotlights.
I hope there is a great work around to solve this, would love to work with this renderer.

Thanks for taking the time.

Cheers,
Ridder
Ridder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Re: Spotlight Octane

Postby Ridder » Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:54 am

Ridder Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:54 am
Hi Beppe,

Thanks the reply!
I've come across some of the tutorials you posted when researching this topic. They are very usefull, thnx!
They don't completely answer my question though. Because when I make the design in vectorworks and export it to c4d all the value's of the lights will be transferd into the spotlights within cinema4d.