New Octane user finding things a big buggy...

Forums: New Octane user finding things a big buggy...
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

New Octane user finding things a big buggy...

Postby murgs001 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:54 am

murgs001 Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:54 am
Hello there!

I'm brand new to Octane, having just signed up to OctaneVR for C4D over the weekend after playing with the demo for a bit. I'm really excited about the potential, but unfortunately I'm finding it really unstable for me.

Examples of what seems like quirky behaviour:
- Adjusting various settings would sometimes cause everything to hang (nothing is clickable in C4D, causing me to kill the task after waiting for about 10 mins - GPU maintains a lowish level of fan noise, and the render % stops updating along with any further activity on Live viewer)
- Octane Textures sometimes stop being displayed in the C4D viewport. Initially showed the c4doctane noise texture when created/applied, but later appeared as just flat white, even though it displays properly in Octane's live viewer)
- Motion blur randomly deactivating despite all the settings being correct. (The correctness of settings was validated by saving my file, restarting my PC, and le voila, it all reappeared again). Resetting render data and restarting sometimes fixes this, but it feels like I'm needing to click this a lot...
- Motion blur is visible in the live viewer, but does not appear when rendered in Picture Viewer. (C4D render settings were set to Octane, and the octane info bar appears at the bottom of pictureviewer window, so it seems to be using the right renderer)