Render question

Forums: Render question
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

Render question

Postby dbmd » Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:46 pm

dbmd Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:46 pm
hi there,

I'm new to Octane and i was wondering.......

If i am working on a 3D scene, the preview is happening on the GPU i suppose.
But what happens if i render to a final output? Does the CPU kicks in as well or is the final image still (only) rendered by the GPU?

In other words. Does it make sense to invest in a fast CPU + GPU or just a fast GPU?

.
dbmd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Render question

Postby paride4331 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:44 am

paride4331 Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:44 am
Hi dbmd,
Octane render is a GPU render engine; CPU works to send information to the GPU when compiling the file.
My advice is to choose a CPU that offers more PCIe lanes with high clock, and invest money in GPUs and Ram.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Render question

Postby dbmd » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:28 pm

dbmd Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:28 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi dbmd,
Octane render is a GPU render engine; CPU works to send information to the GPU when compiling the file.
My advice is to choose a CPU that offers more PCIe lanes with high clock, and invest money in GPUs and Ram.
Regards
Paride


Thanks for your answer!

So a 1080 Ti (maybe add a second 1080 Ti later) on a AMD threadripper 1950x based system should run smooth?
dbmd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:58 am

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:48 am [ UTC ]