Page 29 of 75

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 3:17 pm
by martinzip
I also experience a lot of lock ups when working in the node editor! In PR2 it works really smooth...

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 3:18 pm
by cjadams
Anyone else find that its a 50/50 percent chance of a lockup of c4d? when you abort a render?

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 6:00 pm
by pjano
Anyone was able to successfully use the shadow catcher in PR3 ?
I still have the same issue: the shadow is brighter instead of darker. Or the shadow is invisible but the geometry plane that was supposed to catch the shadow is visible.
This is depending on what tutorial I am following. I was never able to have a result that would be a useful shadow catcher.
Piotr

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 8:22 pm
by jschoenith
martinzip wrote:I also experience a lot of lock ups when working in the node editor! In PR2 it works really smooth...


Yes, same here. PR1 was ok, PR2 almost no lockups or crashes PR3 almost unusable. I have found that C4D R21 is the most lock free for me in PR3, so that's what I'm using now

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 10:46 pm
by Goldorak
jschoenith wrote:
martinzip wrote:I also experience a lot of lock ups when working in the node editor! In PR2 it works really smooth...


Yes, same here. PR1 was ok, PR2 almost no lockups or crashes PR3 almost unusable. I have found that C4D R21 is the most lock free for me in PR3, so that's what I'm using now


There may be a bug in the OSL texture node loader in PR3 that is causing an issue from C4D in certain cases. We are looking into it and will update once we have more info - any repro cases would be welcome if they can reliably reproduce.

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 7:58 am
by bepeg4d
@pjano: about Shadow Catcher, please try with the following scene:
ShadowCatcherX_PR3.c4d.zip
(48.17 KiB) Downloaded 73 times


what is important to check is that the Keep Environment option is disabled, and Alpha Channel enabled, in the Kernel settings:
DDD51BFC-1B18-45C4-8C78-3C758888F5A3.jpeg


ciao Beppe

Render does not finish save to file / MultiplatformNetworkRender

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:57 am
by nibbler
Two questions:

1. Multiplatform with Octane X:
When will the joined multiplatform Rendering be implemented? (with Cuda/Nvidia MacOs and Metal OctaneX both as usable network Slaves/Masters) Its great to have Octane X, but its totally isolated from the rest of our Octane Render Production Environment, running reliable Nvidia/Cuda 2020 1.5. Currently we build the scene in OctaneX, adopt it to 2020 1.5 and on another machine, send it into Network. Very time intense workaround.

2. Render hangs:
The scene is rendered, but does not finish and save to file.
I observed endless stucks (not accomplishing File Save) on OctaneX with C4d and Xparticles (low complex ammounts): PMC, 7K Resolutions. Does anyone has same issues?

Thanks and kind regards. (Great work as ever!)

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:40 pm
by cjadams
I would be happy being able to use Big Sur? is there any reason why this isn't yet possible?
Frustrating having to dual book in multiple beta's as it were..

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:08 pm
by macjon
Hi all! I want to set up a workstation for C4D and Octane X, i thought to buy an iMac Pro with this specs:
– 2,3 GHz 18-Core Intel Xeon W
– 64 GB DDR4 ECC RAM
– Radeon Pro Vega 64X 16 GB HBM2

Which eGPU / which card would you recommend to speed this setup up and decrease render times for short videos / make this possible?

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 6:28 am
by bepeg4d
@nibbler: about question #2, do you have AI Denoiser active with PMC kernel?
If yes, you need to disable it, since it does not work with PMC, so the render never stops... or switch to Path Tracing, with AI Denoiser active.

ciao Beppe