Multi GPU users: any frustrations?

Forums: Multi GPU users: any frustrations?
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Multi GPU users: any frustrations?

Postby vantrum » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:55 pm

vantrum Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:55 pm
I've been loving octane with my 1080FE for a couple years. Now I'm ready to build an upgrade, and am considering my options. Some of my machine concepts include 3 or even 4 GPUs, and I'm not very interested in water cooling.

For anyone currently using a multi-card octane machine, do you have any regrets? Are there any unexpected frustrations or technical challenges?

For bonus points, what is your preference when balancing # of cards vs. number of cuda cores? It's pretty cheap to load up on 1070ti these days, but I'm sure that comes with thermal implications. Thanks in advance for the help! :D
vantrum
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Re: Multi GPU users: any frustrations?

Postby itou31 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:15 pm

itou31 Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:15 pm
Hi,

No regrets using multi-gpu : for me many technical challenge !
All I can advice is multi-gpu (4 or more) = watercooling.
And yes, 1070Ti seems to be today the best to choose (ratio performance/price)
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Postby glimpse » Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:41 am

glimpse Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:41 am
3-4 GPUs is rather easy. All You need to do is to choose good motherboard, fast CPU and reference cards (if You're not interested in watercooling).

also keep in mind that thinking ahead might give You a possibility to expand past physical space on motherboard using eGPU enclosures:

netstor.jpg