Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Forums: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby coilbook » Thu Jul 21, 2016 2:59 am

coilbook Thu Jul 21, 2016 2:59 am
We use 3ds max plugin For some reason when octane slaves kick in Octane viewport turns white and it renders white. (very overexposed ) Why is this?

slave version 3.02
Attachments
with render slaves.jpg
without render slaves.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby coilbook » Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:15 am

coilbook Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:15 am
seems like all this happens when i am using scattering medium With sun kind - MAIN Type - Daylight or texture

Sun just gets very bright until screen turns white. This happens only when slaves are rendering too.

When scatering medium is empty it works

We tried the latest version same

Also we get instant errors on slaves (see attached) but they continue rendering
Attachments
IMG_1013.JPG
white.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby nuno1980 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:11 pm

nuno1980 Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:11 pm
same error - My GTX 780 Ti Classy was bad -> RMA.
Your videocard(s) may has/have VRAM issue, very sorry. ;)
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

[email protected]
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ 2.0 :D
SSD OCZ RD400 0.5TB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
LCD-LED monitor 24" BenQ XL2411P NEW! :D
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby coilbook » Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:17 pm

coilbook Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:17 pm
Slaves render fine with 2.23.2 - 1.9 version. It's just once slaves kick in sun in the rendering gets brighter and brighter and in about 2 seconds image just gets white
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby abstrax » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:35 pm

abstrax Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:35 pm
I could reproduce the problem here on Maxwell and Pascal GPUs, but it's probably a bug on our side. I assume that your slave is running Maxwell/Pascal GPUs and your master some Fermi/Kepler GPUs?
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby coilbook » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:42 pm

coilbook Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:42 pm
Hi yes. Master is two old titans. And slaves have combination of 780tis and 980s

Thank you. Hopefully it can be fixed soon we got so many projects to render.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby abstrax » Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:52 pm

abstrax Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:52 pm
Ok, I have found and fixed the problem. It only occurs with the direct lighting AO kernel if you use an environment medium. So until we release the next update, you could switch to diffuse GI or use path tracing.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Octane viewport/renders turns white with render slaves

Postby coilbook » Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:28 am

coilbook Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:28 am
abstrax wrote:Ok, I have found and fixed the problem. It only occurs with the direct lighting AO kernel if you use an environment medium. So until we release the next update, you could switch to diffuse GI or use path tracing.

Thank you! Yes we did use AO.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jenue and 23 guests

Sun Jul 05, 2020 5:55 pm [ UTC ]