Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Forums: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby rappet » Mon May 23, 2016 9:44 pm

rappet Mon May 23, 2016 9:44 pm
Way to go Phantom! Marvelous it will be :lol:

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby realistic-design » Tue May 24, 2016 10:30 am

realistic-design Tue May 24, 2016 10:30 am
Hello Phantom107,

First of all, great work!
About the displacement fix/edge/smooth issue, you don't have to subdivide the surface so much to fix the smooth problem on the flat surfaces. You just need 1 cut after the rounded edge, in the flat part. That will fix the problem adding only a very unsignificant number of polygones!
In other words, in the case of your cube, a 1mm bevel on each flat polygones will fix it.

Raph
realistic-design
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby Phantom107 » Tue May 24, 2016 3:08 pm

Phantom107 Tue May 24, 2016 3:08 pm
Thanks for your input Raph, though I am actually well aware of this, That analysis is not how I will be making the algorithm, it was just a proof-of-concept, I am still trying out different options. :)

I should note that bevel is actually not the way to go here, it introduces a LOT of potential problems... from going badly because of possibly incorrectly made geometry, or going bad when surfaces are too thin... it will also not work on surfaces that are in any way bent (like an arc shaped wall).

I'm trying to cook up a solution that works for everything. ;)
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby realistic-design » Wed May 25, 2016 9:31 am

realistic-design Wed May 25, 2016 9:31 am
Phantom107 wrote:I'm trying to cook up a solution that works for everything. ;)


AMEN to that :)
realistic-design
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby Phantom107 » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:07 pm

Phantom107 Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:07 pm
The displacement fixer algorithm for the upcoming Phantom Architecture software is now functional!

It takes your architecture mesh, then adaptively tessellates the surfaces of materials you pick, then fixes the normals for you automatically and exports as another *.OBJ file.

Massive timesaver!

Image

Image

Image

Picture 1: result with displacement in Octane Render
Picture 2: wireframe view in Octane Render
Picture 3: source *.OBJ model (SketchUp)

If you look at the wireframe image, yes even complex corners are supported, as long as you properly model the geometry!

Phantom Architecture is planned to feature 3 major tools (the displacement fixer algorithm is one of them) and one minor tool. All will greatly assist your architecture rendering workflow.

The Phantom Architecture website is not yet live.

Phantom Technology Suite licensees will get it before the official standalone-licensable release.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby Marvez » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:14 pm

Marvez Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:14 pm
:shock: :shock: :shock:
I7 5820K 16MB RAM SSD850PRO GTX 970/780
User avatar
Marvez
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:55 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby rappet » Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:35 pm

rappet Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:35 pm
Looks phantomenous :!:

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby JonathanWinbush » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:22 pm

JonathanWinbush Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:22 pm
Your doing great work I run into this problem alot I'll be a day one user for sure when its available
Winbush.tv

Win10x64 / i7 SkyLake / Nvidia Titan X + 980ti / 32gigs Ram
JonathanWinbush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:35 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:37 pm

Phantom107 Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:37 pm
JonathanWinbush, if you have any other annoying problems, send me a PM and I might be able to think of a solution (if I hadn't already planned on it ;) )
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby itsallgoode9 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:56 pm

itsallgoode9 Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:56 pm
would this work at all with CAD models for products or does the geometry need to be clean before your new tool is used?
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City
PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 8 guests

Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:05 pm [ UTC ]