Phantom Scatter [1.12.2] Export and press CTRL+V in Octane!

Forums: Phantom Scatter [1.12.2] Export and press CTRL+V in Octane!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby Phantom107 » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:09 pm

Phantom107 Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:09 pm
Update

Various under-the-hood tweaks and changes. I put work in the matrices, fixing the previous problem of not supporting downward facing triangles. I'm doing my best to sail clear of restrictions! So rappet, what you're asking with the globe is now possible. I don't know how useful it will be, but it's possible.

Here's a render showing it off. Although it's not a globe but that doesn't matter technically. :)

1920x1080, click to enlarge:
Image

edit same render, only now with scaling enabled on the scattering:

Image

Because the scaling requires more random number calls during execution, the random placement is also affected. You can see that even when this happens, they still obey the pre-defined noise patterns so the visual quality will be maintained.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby nardo » Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:07 am

nardo Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:07 am
I can not wait any more. :mrgreen:
windows 8 SP1 | i7 2600k | 8G DDR | 1xGTX 690 1xGTX Titan | Rhinoceros
User avatar
nardo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:20 pm

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby rappet » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:10 am

rappet Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:10 am
Wonderful :!:

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby necko77 » Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:33 am

necko77 Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:33 am
Dude, where is mine Phantom Scatter :)

Great work !

can't wait to try it !
ArchiCad, Blender, Moi3d
GTX 580 3GB
Win 7, 64 Bit
User avatar
necko77
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Bosnia&Hercegovina

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby xxdanbrowne » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:19 pm

xxdanbrowne Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:19 pm
I just took a look at this thread: your phantom scatter tool looks amazing. Really nice work.
xxdanbrowne
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:38 am

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby Phantom107 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:02 am

Phantom107 Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:02 am
Time for some good news. :D

The program is now out of alpha and into beta!

The new manual can be downloaded here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/m88dv9iqdnu8x ... 20BETA.pdf
This time the manual does a step by step guide on getting the hang of the program. I've made a simple little test area and some abstract trees/tall grass to play with.

If you're interested in doing some beta testing, please contact me at [email protected]
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby glimpse » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:34 am

glimpse Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:34 am
awesomeness!!! this is by far one of the best news!!! let's try it!!! =)
tomGlimps | [email protected] | 32GB | TitanBlack
Available for Freelance, Coaching & Mentoring
User avatar
glimpse
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby smicha » Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:42 pm

smicha Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:42 pm
Yes Phantom! That's the news I've been waiting for so long :) Soon I'll post some of my test results. Thanks again for your hard work.

S
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing solution

Postby r-username » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:18 am

r-username Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:18 am
+1
instant purchase for me.
i7 960 - W7x64 - 12 GB - 2x GTX 780ti
http://www.startsimple.com/ - http://www.gigavr.com/
r-username
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Phantom Scatter | Automatized instancing [BETA available

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:16 pm

Phantom107 Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:16 pm
To all BETA-users,

Please check your e-mail for a new BETA build.

LOG

1. Fixed a cosmetical error where the loading bar in Compute showed 133.33%.
2. Made the checkmark system more clear in tutorial 6 by adding a reference image.
3. Added (small) Q&A section in the manual.
4. Fixed a major bug with reading format 'f v/vt' OBJ data. Now OBJs exported from ArchiCAD should also work.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands
PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: roy_orengo and 9 guests

Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:14 am [ UTC ]