combine multiple objects ?

Forums: combine multiple objects ?
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:31 am

Creative_Sheep Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:31 am
How do I combine multiple objects, for example; OBJ and Emission Objects used for Lighting etc ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Zay » Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:10 pm

Zay Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:10 pm
Creative_Sheep wrote:How do I combine multiple objects, for example; OBJ and Emission Objects used for Lighting etc ?


Group geometry. Something like this.

light control.JPG
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 419.17| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:07 am

Creative_Sheep Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:07 am
Zay wrote:
Creative_Sheep wrote:How do I combine multiple objects, for example; OBJ and Emission Objects used for Lighting etc ?


Group geometry. Something like this.

light control.JPG


How do you scale an object, I see that you are; if I understand correctly, creating an emission light from the screen shot, which is why I asked the question as to how to combine objects, one of those objects being
an emission light. Although what is the purpose of the Object Layer Map & Object Layer nodes ?

When I create a plane, and try to scale the plane it is almost impossible to scale the plane in the viewport as to move it around in the scene as an emission light; Although in your screen shot, the plane, assuming it's a plane;
is easy to move around in the scene ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:02 pm

Creative_Sheep Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:02 pm
Hopefully bepeg4d can answer this question or someone.

In the image, what are those nodes circled in yellow; and what are those left, middle and right nodes, if I'm reading that correctly ?

Also how do I scale a plane as seen in the image so I can see the entire plane. When I attempt to scale the plane, I can never get it with the placement node scaled as you see in the image ?
Attachments
octane_scale.png
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:56 pm

bepeg4d Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:56 pm
Hi,
it seems that you are selecting shaders, not mesh nodes, you need to have the lights as separated plane mehes to be able to move scale rotate tham independently.
You can use this lua script for creating plane emitters:
download/file.php?id=48673
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6328
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:21 pm

Creative_Sheep Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:21 pm
@bepeg4d

When one creates a plane which can be used as an emitter is that not the same, that is what I have done but I can't scale the plane as seen in the screen shot of my previous post ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:01 pm

bepeg4d Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:01 pm
No it is not the same, because in your example, the emitter planes, the floor and the spheres have been exported as a single mesh, so there is no way to move a part of the mesh.
You need to have separated mesh nodes, connected with mesh group node, to be able to move a mesh independently.
If you use the script, the plane emitter is independent from the imported mesh, and can be moved rotated and scaled in viewport.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6328
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:16 am

Creative_Sheep Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:16 am
@bepeg4d
How or where is best to apply the script ?
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:21 pm

bepeg4d Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:21 pm
To use a Lua script you have two ways:
  • 1. Create the Script Editor window from the Windows menu:
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 16.57.09.png

    Then load the desired script with the proper icon:
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 16.57.19.png

    And press the Play button to run the script:
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 16.58.09.png
  • 2. Go to File/Preferences/Application, and specify a path to a folder with Lua scripts inside:
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 16.58.42.png

    To have them available directly from the Script menu, after restart, or rescan of the Script folder:
    Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 17.08.37.png
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6328
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: combine multiple objects ?

Postby Creative_Sheep » Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:42 pm

Creative_Sheep Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:42 pm
Thanks.
Creative_Sheep
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:42 pm

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:03 pm [ UTC ]