Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Forums: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby Chromfell » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:35 am

Chromfell Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:35 am
Hi.
I make building displacement maps.

_post4.jpg

Yeah, might be unconventional - but listen, I feel like 3.07 has a problem with displacement. Let me show you.

_post8.jpg

What are those steps? My first thought was not enough bit depth (had that before), but they also don't make any sense visually...
To me at least. You're looking at a pure, lossless linear 16-bit PNG gradient being displaced, but with weird skewed lines throughout.
I've had other octane users replicate the issue on their end (presumably also on 3.07) and they experienced the same.

I reproduced the effect with other displacement examples aswell:

_post2.jpg

You're looking at a 32-bit tiff baked sphere and a cube. And those ridges are NOT supposed to be there.

Just hope it's fixed by the time stable 3.08 rolls out cuz I really wanna get my hands on that sweet OSL in OctaneC4D... but my building maps are my everything, ya feel?

Anyway, what the hecc happen otoy??? :o :o :o

.ORBX PROJECT FILE:
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit / / GTX 1080 + GTX 980 Ti / / Octane Standalone + Octane for Cinema 4D
User avatar
Chromfell
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:01 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:10 am

bepeg4d Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:10 am
Hi Chromfell,
wow, congrats, great displacement work :)
About 3.07/3.08, now you need to click the tool icon of the Displacement texture and change the depth from default 16bit to 32bit:
8CB0DF96-1909-4FF7-87E8-D5A7D5929148.jpeg

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6010
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby Chromfell » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:47 pm

Chromfell Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:47 pm
hi beppe,

Thanks, but I have to ask, why the change? How does this affect the workflow?
Did it previously always interpret as 32bit and this is the new default to save VRAM?
Seems like a bad idea to have the "worse" option as a default :/

I also have no option to enable this in cinema4d plugin which is what I mainly work with...
so I can't use smooth displacement there at the moment?
Interesting choices.

ciao chromfell
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit / / GTX 1080 + GTX 980 Ti / / Octane Standalone + Octane for Cinema 4D
User avatar
Chromfell
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 7:01 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby aoktar » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:23 pm

aoktar Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:23 pm
Chromfell wrote:I also have no option to enable this in cinema4d plugin which is what I mainly work with...
so I can't use smooth displacement there at the moment?
Interesting choices.

It's for saving memory and good for most of situations i suppose. Also I don't know how to change this parameter from sdk but i'll talk to team.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11488
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:36 pm

bepeg4d Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:36 pm
Hi Chromfell,
in Standalone you can specify in Preferences/Import what to do with HDR texture bit depth while importing :
FEFAF191-D9E4-4953-9C6C-08A89F678422.jpeg

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6010
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby abstrax » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:42 pm

abstrax Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:42 pm
Chromfell wrote:hi beppe,

Thanks, but I have to ask, why the change? How does this affect the workflow?
Did it previously always interpret as 32bit and this is the new default to save VRAM?
Seems like a bad idea to have the "worse" option as a default :/

I also have no option to enable this in cinema4d plugin which is what I mainly work with...
so I can't use smooth displacement there at the moment?
Interesting choices.

ciao chromfell

HDR images that are used as textures are converted to half float anyway, which is why we made it the default. Displacement mapping is actually the exception here, but of course you can change the defaults in the preferences to what you think makes most sense for you. And of course you can also change it for a particular node, too (using the wrench icon).
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby julienplastic » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:55 am

julienplastic Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:55 am
Hello,
I have a similar problem with Octane Render for C4d 3.06.2.
How I can resolve this problem?
(The displacment use a 32bit ImageTexture, levels of details in displacment channel is 4096x4096.)
All the best
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2018-02-06 à 12.53.35.png
julienplastic
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby julienplastic » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:01 pm

julienplastic Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:01 pm
Hello,
No solutions for this?
julienplastic
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: Displacement issue 3.07 skewed steps on smooth gradients

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:16 pm

bepeg4d Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:16 pm
Hi julienplastic,
sorry, difficult to say without the scene.
Please, try with 3.08test 6, the displacement feature has been revisited.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6010
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests

Tue Dec 11, 2018 6:25 am [ UTC ]