Page 1 of 1

File instance/proxy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:52 pm
by Affari
Would be awesome if there was a place in the object tag where you could replace on render and point it to a another file of a model.

It's just a lot of models we work with are either client CAD or heavily sub-divided models sometimes copied multiple times in scene...I obviously use a low poly proxy for animating, however I am completely blind as to what my final frame looks like until I manually swap the objects out for high poly.

I have tried working with Xrefs and proxy reference but there is no way of stopping it from updating in viewport which takes a while to load if referenced file is dense.

Would be nice for a simple tab in Octane object tag for 'Renderable object' or 'Swap on Render', bit like how scatter works but obviously not for cloning...

So basically:
Animate in viewport with low poly mesh and Octane Object tag referencing high poly version.
IPR window shows swapped high poly model instead of low poly model, low poly version remains in viewport

Would this be easy? I mean the instance stuff is already there with the scatter it's just you can't use it for a single object with a custom low poly..

Re: File instance/proxy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:58 pm
by Affari
I'll answer my own question.

Although it's not exactly how I described, you can actually export to orbx and then bring in an orbx object in C4D. Works great.

Re: File instance/proxy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:01 am
by bepeg4d
Hi,
another trick is to disable all the c4d Subdivision Surface objects in the scene, and apply to them an Octane Object tag, with the same subdivision settings in the proper tab.
Image

In this way, the subdivision will be applied only at render time, and the c4d scene will be much lighter and easy to handle.

ciao Beppe

Re: File instance/proxy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:38 am
by Affari
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
another trick is to disable all the c4d Subdivision Surface objects in the scene, and apply to them an Octane Object tag, with the same subdivision settings in the proper tab.
Image

In this way, the subdivision will be applied only at render time, and the c4d scene will be much lighter and easy to handle.

ciao Beppe



Hey man thanks for the reply..

I'm aware of subdivision on render, but that will only help if the models are sub-d and even then sometimes they are too high for animating in realtime.

It's all good anyway the orbx solution works a treat.

Thanks!